Icons & Me

I told people I was starting a blog.  Many of them, astonished, asked “why?”  I admit, it seems kind of an egotistical thing to do from one perspective.  I mean, who cares what I think?  But to answer the question “why?”—I am an iconographer, and have studied icons for about 15 years under excellent instructors.  I love traditional Russian-style icons, and strive to follow the canons and traditions established by the Orthodox Church as best as I can in my work.  The icon has formed my spirituality and transformed my heart.  It has led me deep into prayer and the study of God’s Word.  The icon is not about me, an artist, but about and for the glory of God.

I would like to explore the value of the icon in contemporary U.S. culture, its function as a bridge between all Christians, and the experiences of God and prayer through the image as well as through the rest of life.  I welcome thoughtful comments and replies. 

I am certain that these traditional images of God are vital to our society. They speak subliminally to a culture starved for positive and holy images.  They are a powerful witness to faith and truth in a time of darkness, discouragement, and spiritual emptiness.

The icon was the original artistic expression of all Christians.  In time, it became the liturgical artistic expression of the Eastern Church, and was more or less lost to the West.  The Orthodox have safeguarded and kept strong the meaning, symbolism, and form of the icon.  Now, the rest of the world seems to be rediscovering it.  I believe the Holy Images are a bridge between denominations, leading to understanding and brotherhood between Christians.  We have more in common together than we do differences.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Icons & Me

  1. Robin says:

    Your description of the purpose of your work, and the process you follow, were quite intriguing, and I appreciated the photo of the work-in-progress. The top image on this page does give the feeling of a frieze, and the painting of the hand using the paintbrush helps illustrate what you’re doing. (The dogs pic was fun too!). I would also be interested in seeing a sample or two of a finished icon, one of yours or perhaps a historical example if you’d rather.

    I agree that this beautiful sacred imagery is particularly relevant and inspiring in these sometimes dark times, and that we are hungry for this kind of spiritual message of deeper truth and beauty.

  2. Melinda Montgomery says:

    Your blog is quite lovely, Kathy! Keep up the wonderful work that you do with your art.

  3. Linda Bray says:

    Wonderfully done, Kathy. I will visit often with hopes of seeing more of the Spirit at work. It matters not so much what gifts we have but how we use them. Yours are being used wisely and humbly and I thank you for sharing.

  4. Carmen says:

    Wow! Kathy, I am having a rare leisurely morning in Chetumal, Mexico, and just visited your wonderful blog. I acquired a deeper understanding of my friend, and of course the process and importance and meaning of a very special art. Thank you so much for the enlightenment. I walk the world today a more enlightened woman thanks to your time and effort in educating about and sharing your passion.

  5. MJ says:

    Am impressed by One Who Blogs. Curious to see how St George develops. Lovely blog!

Leave a Reply

