Images in Cloth 3

I’ve been working for a couple of weeks now on the drawing of St. George to scale.  It seems so large–the largest piece I have ever worked on.  My dining room table just barely fit it!

So many frustrations are involved in drawing–especially for those of us who are mathematically challenged!  I muddled through finding the center line (usually it is easy to divide 44 inches by 2 to find the center point at 22 inches–but put a ruler in my hand and this becomes an impossible task to carry out!  It took many many many tries to get the paper to depict what my intellect already knew . . .) I then muddled through the drawings.  Head too big.  Head too small.  Horse too big.  Dragon too small.  Arms too fat. And so on.

Drawing and redrawing, until it finally began to come together.

Since this master-drawing will be the layout and basis for patterns to be cut out of cloth, I outlined it in marker pen to make clearly defined shapes.  Details can be added later, depending on the fabrics.

Taking breaks from working to do some spring planting, take care of the dogs, and  make a pot of soup–allows me to come back to the drawing and see it with fresh eyes and make corrections. 

Finally the drawing was completed and outlined.  It is not perfect, but it will be the start of the next step–selecting and assembling the fabrics we will use for this wall hanging. 

It is a wonderful experience in letting go,  of relinquishing control, to collaborate with another artist on a piece.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholic icons, fabric art, Iconography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Images in Cloth 3

  1. MJ says:

    Love the photos showing what you’re up to. Eager to see the drawing in “real Life”

  2. reinkat says:

    I love the photography. Was it done professionally?
    Secret Admirer

  3. I know what you mean about making the drawings big. A process frought with perils. It takes sheer courage and prayer and determination. Looks like you did a good job in the end.
    Nice photography, Secret Admirer!
    Sister Mary Grace, OCD

Leave a Reply

