Hiking in the Dunes

We had such a lovely day hiking in the dunes near Coos Bay on Wednesday.  It wasn’t exactly sunny and warm, but very pleasant.  No wind.  The dogs had a great time, a great example of taking joy in the moment, living in the present.  They ran and ran,

              

 at least until Ivan’s little pink feet got sore from the sand.  My husband picked him up and carried him part of the way.  Ivan was partly terrified and partly grateful, I think.  He sort of had that “pleeeeeze help me” expression as he looked back at Larry and I . . .

 

 We followed up our dune walk with a beautiful stroll on a forest trail near Mapleton.  What a beautiful place that was, as moist and green and dense as the dunes were windswept and open.  The waterfalls were breathtaking.

      

Everywhere I looked I saw the hand of our Creator.

Many people have told me that they feel closer to God in nature than in church.  Others say just as firmly that church is the place to find God.  I find Him both places.  My thinking is this:  that people have built and decorated churches.  We gather together in prayer, and God is gracious to join us there in the place that we have made for Him.   

                                            

God has created the world, made it a beautiful place in which He takes delight.  It is a gift to us, and He is pleased when we enjoy, admire, and care for it.  It is the place that God has made for us, and He joins us there as well.           

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Hiking in the Dunes

  1. Secret Admirer says:

    God is not only present in the natural wonders we experience, but also in the people He created and the sacrament of marriage He has blessed me with.

  2. SR says:

    This is great again. I as you think we find God in both places. When I am outside I always say to Him, “I am in the Garden of Eden Lord, please come and dwell with me?” I think my best prayers are said outside. I understand when outside He is such a wonderful God of color, and I never fail to tell Him so. I love the green, against the blue skies, against the white clouds. Where I live in the spring we have bluebonnets and indian blankets (which are red, and it is just beautiful. Good post for reflecting. Love dog pictures.

  3. SR says:

    Good am glad you love it, as you are a person of color as well. How can we look at nature and not see God is a God of color. Some other points besides flowers, grass, etc. Look at the Zebra’s, the big cats with spots and stripes, horses, (some are white, some are blue (as blut apps are) some are brown or black, some have spots some do not. Everything in nature has color, except maybe rain, it is clear:>)

Leave a Reply

