Images in Cloth 6

Slowly the image is coming together.  We are busy cutting, applying sticky stuff to the back with an iron, and pinning the pieces into place.  Order comes out of the chaos.  As we work, we change fabric choices, improvising and redesigning constantly.

It feels very creative–and very chaotic!  I fought my own sense of impatience–not knowing what was to come next as far as process goes was frustrating.  I was anxious to fasten something permanently to the backing, to make a commitment.  But the process remains fluid, pieces are only pinned, and I force myself to be patient and listen to my co-artist’s experience and wisdom.

A lunch break was welcome, and tasty.

We are working out the colors and fabrics for the armor.  Also experimenting with ideas for how to depict the hands and face.  That will be my homework for the next session–to cut out and fuse the layers to model St. George’s face and hands.  One experiment looked promising . . .  We are uncertain whether to use fabric paint or to topstitch the facial features.   Initially, I had thought that using cloth to create an icon might be limiting compared to painting, but it is definitely not!  The choices and options are rich and endless.      

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholic icons, fabric art, Iconography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

