Images in Cloth 7

In debating how to best depict the face and hands on our icon of St. George, we talked about whether to do it all in cloth, or to paint directly on the cloth. I wanted to be a purist, and have it be all fabric.  It is thus not surprising that I was given a “homework assignment” to do some cut-and-paste to model the facial features and hands.  It took about 4 hours to do the 4 tiny pieces.  There were technical difficulties galore.  It was confusing to work in reverse, as I was applying sticky stuff to the backs of the pieces to be fused on with a hot iron.  Every step required careful planning and thought. There were many many “do-overs”.

The hot iron made the tulle stretch and distort.  The pieces were tiny, the scissors sharp, and the iron steaming hot.  I think I finally got it, though! Without hurting myself!

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholic icons, fabric art, Icon, Iconography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

