A new icon: Jesus Blesses the Children

I have been asked to begin a new icon, one of Jesus Blessing the Children.  I begin with Scripture, and prayer.

And people were bringing children to him that he might touch them, but the disciples rebuked them.  When Jesus saw this he became indignant and said to them, “Let the children come to me; do not prevent them, for the kingdom of God belongs to such as these.  Amen, I say to you, whoever does not accept the kingdom of God like a child will not enter it.  Then he embraced them and blessed them, placing his hands on them. (Mark 10: 13-16)

This will be a traditional icon on a gessoed board, painted with egg tempera, gilded with 22k gold.  The board is a bit small for an icon with 4 to 6 figures in it–I will be painting it with a magnifying lens.  So far I have found 3 models to use as a starting place for the composition, and have begun to analyze the proportions and placing of the figures.  I am making thumbnail sketches of ways to depict this story of Jesus in ways that will be meaningful to the recipient.  The gesso is being sanded to a perfect, smooth finish.

And most importantly, I am praying daily for the person who will receive this icon, and have asked that he pray for me during this process, the beginning of a spiritual journey for us both.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholic icons, Icon, Iconography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

