Jesus Blesses the Children 5

I love this stage of writing an icon.  The underpainting, the color schemes, the pulling-it-all-together with broad strokes to harmonize through color.  It is such an enjoyable task–even more so since it is nearly impossible to make a mistake at this point!  Anything can be quickly and easily corrected, removed, redone.  It’s totally freeing! 

I found photos of mosaics from the Chora which showed the Apostles Luke and Matthew.  They are quite ancient, and I will use them to pattern the garment colors for my icon.  Over the centuries, there has been quite a bit of variation in their garment colors, but I feel pretty confident using these old Byzantine originals as a source for my color models.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholic icons, Icon, Iconography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

