Icon Writing

They told us in my first icon workshop that one “writes” icons rather than “paints” them.  This is because an icon is the Gospel written in line and color, a witness and testimony to the Good News through the language of symbols and image.  It is, according to Leonid Ouspensky, “a vehicle of the Gospel teaching”  testifying to God’s presence in this world, witnessing to His love for us.  The icon is “an integral part of the liturgy” and “one of the manifestations of the holy Tradition of the Church, similar to the written and oral traditions.”
Who am I, to attempt such a thing as that, on my dining room table, with plastic jars of powdered colors and paintbrushes from the local art supply store.

I guess that as Christians, we are all called to evangelize, to proclaim the Word through our lives, actions, and speech.  Perhaps this my way to do that: to speak through my paintbrush to share the Good News, to share truths that I am not articulate or eloquent enough to say with my lips.  I pray that might do this worthily, and witness to the glory of God and His love for us.

 

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholic icons, Christian Prayer, Icon, Iconography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

