Last Camping Trip of 2011

So, there I was, a 57 year old woman, crying because my vacation was over and it was time to go home.  I  wandered along the path back to camp, going slowly enough so that the tears would dry and my nose would have time to fade back to a normal pink.  In the end, only the dogs knew about my foolishness.  (They always know, and crowd around with anxious sympathy. ) This sorrow over going home hasn’t happened to me since I lived in Los Angeles, and dreaded the return to a congested, polluted land of concrete.  How I wish that circumstances allowed me to live always in the “real world” instead of the false constructs of our society where money, success, popularity, and competition reign over the true values of peace, beauty and simplicity.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Last Camping Trip of 2011

  1. MJ says:

    A beautiful reflection on the struggle of the artist and the painful imperfection of this present life.
    But remember “All will be well and all will be well and all manner of things will be well.”
    Bl. Julian of Norwich

  2. SR says:

    Reinkat, I loved it:>) “only the dogs knew about my foolishness.” That was a “hoot” to me. I laughed so hard, because you are right. I have five of them. Four outside, one inside. Love them all and they are adopted or strays, as I live in the country.

    We are a little bitty town with a post office, country store, fire department, and a bank. I would not trade it for anything in the world as I have the best neighbors. My husband travels for his job and they all look after me, all the time. One day maybe you can get off of the concrete and find a tree to “cop a squat under.” God Bless, SR

    • reinkat says:

      Thanks, SR, and blessings to you as well. I just love dogs. Our 2 are rescue animals, too, adopted from the humane society.
      Your home town sounds wonderful. It’s the best way to live, urban life is not for me.

  3. SR says:

    I just had to comment again, as I laugh everytime I read this:>) I have tears rolling down my eyes:>) If yours are anything like mine, everytime I go out to cry, they are all jumping on me and licking me, pulling me down almost to the ground. Panting they are so happy to see me. You quit crying quickly. I just love this one, I do.

Leave a Reply

