A Trip Down Memory Lane

I treated myself to a digital photo frame with my Christmas bonus check.  Determined to find my 400 all-time best family photos, I began pouring through 40 years of pictures: 27 filled photo albums plus a large box of loose photos.  (I bought my first camera when I was 17 and didn’t get a digital one until 2005.  I have several thousand digital photo images, too.)   Each traditional picture needs to be scanned into the computer and loaded onto a thumb drive along with the digital ones . . .  what a project!! 

I am not yet finished, which is hardly surprising.  My goal of 400 pictures was . . . not quite adequate.  Already I have over 500 photos put aside, about 100 of them already scanned.  There are 14 more albums to look through.  It is a tremendous undertaking, but it will be worth it in the end.

In the meantime, I find myself both laughing and crying at the memories rediscovered.  My children as babies and toddlers, beloved pets, family members who have since passed away, the wonderful times we have had.  Smiles, tears, mugging for the camera.  Theme parties.  Family gatherings.  Weddings and birthday parties.  Camping trips.  How incredibly young and skinny we all used to be.  How incredibly ridiculous our dress and hairstyles were. 

 It’s almost impossible to decide which ones to select for scanning and which to put back into the albums.   If I had an extra lifetime, I would scan them all . . .

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

