Dogs and Football

Larry is a gentle sensitive soul. 

He does not appreciate the shouting and abrupt exclamations that an exciting football game prompts.

He did not like the Rose Bowl game one bit, no, he did not.

Larry disapproves of football in general.  Like every sport, it has its own characteristic “sounds”.  The cheering of fans, the calls of the referees over radio or TV sends Larry panting and trembling to the kitchen, where he sits wide-eyed and anxious and waiting for deliverance. 

If dogs pray, then I am sure that is what he is doing.

He and I will both be extremely pleased when the end of this month comes and that last game is over with.  Life can return again to more civilized pursuits.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Dogs and Football

  1. ha ha ha! love the description of your dog. We have hockey on all winter, and while I don’t mind watching a game or two, our house is too small for me to get away from the noise when all I want to do is read in peace & quiet. Our dog, though fearful of many things (he was rescued), doesn’t mind the TV at all. Go figure…

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you so much for reading and commenting.
      I wonder just what Larry would think about hockey! He was a rescue dog also, and worries about yelling and things like that. I find that earplugs during TV and radio broadcasts of sporting events works wonders for me, though.

Leave a Reply

