My Hero

St. Monica was born in 333 AD in the city of Tagaste, North Africa, located in present-day Algeria.  She inspires me, gives me hope.  I ask her to pray with me.  Born into a Christian family, she was nonetheless given in marriage to a local pagan man.  Her new husband was domineering and critical, cheated on her, and had a violent temper.  Monica had  3 children who survived infancy.  She never lost her faith, and prayed steadily and devotedly for all of her family.  Her husband and 2 younger children were converted and baptized by the time she was 37 years old.  But not the eldest.  He continued to live a wild, promiscuous life, and Monica worried a great deal about him.  She fasted and prayed.  She left her hometown when he did, following him, nagging him, seeking help and guidance from bishops in each city they travelled through.  She prayed constantly for his conversion.  It took 17 more years, but she never lost hope, never ceased her prayers.  Her son Augustine was finally baptized in 387.  She died shortly thereafter, rejoicing that her son had turned to God.  He became one of the most influential people in church history, and one of the greatest saints. 

What does this woman who died 1,700 years ago have in common with me?  My son, too, has turned away from the church. I pray daily that he will return to the Lord.  It is hard to keep going sometimes–now over a decade of this prayer–to have faith that it will make a difference.  St. Monica reminds me that prayer does work, even when there doesn’t seem to be any evidence of change.  God will answer in His own time and in ways that cannot be predicted.  And so I pray:

St. Monica, I ask you to pray with me for my son, that he may be close to God and filled with the peace of Jesus Christ.  I also ask that you pray for me, that I might have the faith, patience, and perseverance to continue to support my child with prayer throughout his life. 

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Christian Prayer, Icon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My Hero

  1. SR says:

    Hey Girl,

    It is SR. Love the post on St. Monica. Will email you soon with details of all that has been going on. Dad has had surgery and Mom is very sick. That is why I had to cancel blog and the such. Keep hanging in there with your son. I had a girlfriend you prayed over 25 years and it finally happened. Have been thinking of you so much and praying for you as well. Thanks so much for what you sent me at Christmas. Loved loved loved it. God Bless, SR

  2. reinkat says:

    Thank you, SR. I pray that things will improve for you and your family.
    Your girlfriend is awesome, she is my hero, too. It is so easy to become discouraged.
    Thank you for your prayers and caring.

  3. francisca leighton says:

    RESTLESS HEART is the first full-length feature movie on St. Augustine…Christian Duguay directed the film…

Leave a Reply

