Desert Thoughts

I love the desert.  It is harsh and dangerous yet filled with surprising beauty.  It is a stark beauty that one must become accustomed to, an appreciation that must grow on one gradually.  I love the wide open spaces, the huge sky, the dramatic lighting, and the rustle of secret tiny lives somehow surviving.  The very air itself challenges and confronts the wanderer with extremes of temperature and force of movement.  I think it is the only place where I have heard perfect, utter silence, and experienced total solitude. 

I recall walking years ago along a dry wash, slogging through the soft hot sand, surrounded by rocks and dry stickery plants.  I suddenly came across, in the slight shade of a boulder, a flower. Exotic, delicately formed, like an orchid.  A single bloom without leaves, a three-inch treasure amongst the worn and broken rocks.   The desert is full of such surprises, such rewards.  It is no wonder that it is so often a metaphor for a spiritual struggle, with its hard limitations and sudden moments of grace.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Desert Thoughts

  1. SR says:

    Hey Girl,

    Well for one who “did not know what to write” here it is again. A beautiful, spiritual and well done post. I will come back to read this one, it did something to me. Love the pictures. God Bless, SR

    • reinkat says:

      Thlank you, SR, I appreciate your comment. Your words have heartened me. I have been in a “writing desert” and maybe I am going to head out of it at last. Just in time to do a brief write-up in the parish bulletin that St. George will be hanging in our church for all of Lent, and to help parishioners interpret his struggle and victory over his personal demons in this icon.

  2. SR says:

    You are welcome. When you do please if you can email me a copy, as I know it will be sooooo good!!! You are welcome. God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

