. . . as we forgive those who trespass against us.

I spent 2011 working on an icon of St. Nicholas, which I used for my Christmas card (and posted it here on my blogsite in December, to wish all of you a Merry Christmas).  In February, a brand new Catholic gift/book store opened up in town (we had none), as a small shop inside and within a brand new St. Vincent dePaul’s thrift store.  It is sporatically staffed by volunteers, including myself on occasion, and when nobody is there, the thrift store clerks graciously ring up items and keep track of it. I had several small items for sale in the store, and thinking it might be time to explore the possibility of seeking commissions, also made up a flyer to hand out.  There was a securely locked cabinet, so I brought St. Nicholas over to display, clearly marked “Not For Sale”, to support the flyer information. 

And to make a long story short, a mistake was made.  Somebody unlocked the case, and sold the icon for $45.   I was devastated when I arrived 8 days later for my volunteer shift, and saw that it was not there. 

Fortunately, it was a credit card sale.  We had a name.  Contact was made with the woman who bought it. She said she understood and would return it.   I was so happy.

Unfortunately, having gotten a whiff of the idea that it was actually quite valuable and worth more than what she paid for it, she reconsidered.  She consulted an attorney and refused to return it. 

Legally, she is on firm ground.  Morally, well, that is another question.  St. Vincent dePaul has offered to make it right with me, and we came to an agreement, but I am so very saddened.  I will not pursue it further. 

Maybe the image of St. Nicholas, who personifies generosity and compassion, needs to be with this woman a while.  It’s a hard thing, this letting go and forgiving.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholic icons, Icon, Iconography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to . . . as we forgive those who trespass against us.

  1. SR says:

    Oh Girl, you are kidding me???? Bless your sweet-HEART!! God will turn this around for you, Reinkat. For where there is sadness He will give to us great joy. We never know when things such as this happens, what the purpose is. Trust me, there is one, and it will be all for God’s glory, and your benefit. I hope you are still not taking your things there??? God Bless, SR

  2. This has got to be so hard, so very hard. I know all the painstaking work you put into that icon. It’s almost a little like having a child kidnapped. I would be angry as well as sad if I were you. All kind of emotions must be swirling about. This is a hard test of forgiveness, and it will take effort and grace. God knows you are suffering, and He alone sees the eventual outcome of all this. May St. Nicholas keep you supple and strong, and change the heart of that poor woman, who is the real loser in this encounter.

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you, Sister. I forced myself to pray for the woman last night, on the grounds that it is impossible to simultaneously remain angry at and pray for a person. It helped me a lot, to pray that her life be blessed. By the time I was finished, I did find my anger had lessened as did my sadness. The icon is on its own journey now.

  3. Biltrix says:

    The title drew my attention, and it really really fits the story. I’m sorry that this happend to you, but thanks for making a prayer out of this (like your icons). God bless!

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you. So far no word or sign of St. Nicholas has appeared–but I am checking ebay, etsy, and craig’s list frequently, just in case!

Leave a Reply

