Sudden insight via radio

I slid into the car, turned the key in the ignition, headed for home.  The radio was tuned to KVBM 94.9, the Catholic Radio station.  A woman was talking as the sound came on. I just caught the tail end of her final remark, just a quick sound bite:  Remember, Jesus spent 10 times more years of His life with His mother than He did with His apostles.  I smiled to myself in surprise, I had never thought about it that way. 

I had never been much of a “Mary person” in the past, but one of the fruits of studying iconography has been the awakening of the desire to become closer to her.  The radio show quote kept popping into my mind as I went about my life over the next several days.  How true it was.  Thirty years with His mother.  Three years with his apostles.  The implications of that.

I learned so much from raising my own children.  They taught me and formed me as I was busy trying to teach and form them.  Through them, I gave up the last adolescent vestiges of my self-involved world, and learned to nurture and to make others the focus of my love and care.  I learned patience, compassion, abundant empathy and understanding–the list is endless.  Through my children, I grew so much.

Already humble and giving of heart, how much more did Mary learn from her little Jesus boy, from His words, actions, and behavior, through childhood, adolescence, and young adulthood.  If I could learn so much from my ordinary little boys, my own babies, how much more was Mary’s soul, her loving heart, her understanding, formed by her unique closeness with her son, Jesus.  How special, unique, and worthy of honor and reverence she is.  How truly blessed, for all generations. 

 

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Icon, Iconography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sudden insight via radio

  1. SR says:

    This is my favorite and the best!!! How you tied this all in was wonderfully done!!! I love the icons. Did you do these? How blessed you are in thoughts and talent. God Bless, SR

  2. SR says:

    It just dawned on me this is the icon you were working on with Mary and the infant Jesus!!! It is so beautiful. On the reader it comes up so huge and one can see everything. You really did a great job on this!! I am jealous:>) God Bless, SR

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you so much. I have to admit that neither of these icons are my work. My icon didn’t turn out as well as these two. The more golden one is a contemporary Greek one, which an acquaintance bought overseas. The smaller one is Russian, and I photographed it at a museum. So, no need for jealousy!! 🙂 I just took the pictures. I am really glad that you liked the post.

  3. Kathy, your insights are right on and only a mother could have penned them. What I find awesome is that Our Lady is willing to share the wealth she has acquired when anyone takes the trouble to get closer to her. She shares a hidden wisdom, just like that hidden life of 30 years!

Leave a Reply

