The Iron Bear

I saw so much artwork on my roadtrip.  Not only did we look at murals, roadside folk art and public art, but we were also lucky enough to talk with a sculptor, Tom Bant, and admire his work. 

Tom is a sculptor.  He is also an excellent caricaturist.  His paintings and drawings are wonderful.  He is also an art teacher.  My absolute favorite piece of his is a huge metal sculpture of a bear. It is life-size, and life-like, with one clawed foot resting on a stump.  It is displayed outdoors. The big bear is oxidizing gracefully to a wonderful warm red color, becoming more and more beautiful.  Tom has a website, so I am including the link here if you would like to see more of his work:  www.tombant.com.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Iron Bear

  1. SR says:

    I REALLY WANT THIS BEAR!!! THIS IS THE NEATEST THING I HAVE EVER SEEN. THANKS SO MUCH FOR SHARING IT WITH US. WHAT A GREAT ARTIST! GOD BLESS, SR

Leave a Reply

