Guardian Angel Icon

I finished it! At last.  It has been quite a struggle:  some parts of this icon have been painted and repainted and totally changed 5 to 6 times.   

Confession time: I had had some vague mercenary notions about what to do with this icon, and I suspect thinking about that interfered with the prayer journey.  I was thinking about making greeting cards and small matted reproductions of this icon, and thus did not do any gilding on it.  It is very difficult to photograph gold effectively, so this leaving-off-the-gold was planned from the start, in order to be commercial.  I was thinking of The Guardian Angel icon as a product instead of a prayer.  I forgot (temporarily) the purpose of writing an icon: to praise and glorify God, to witness to His Presence, to beautify His church, to bring people to prayer.  Once I remembered that, and corrected my focus, things began to flow once more and it all pulled together.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Catholic icons, Icon, Iconography, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Guardian Angel Icon

  1. Ah, temptation. I am in the midst of conducting an iconography workshop and I started the first day with a brief warning about the truth that we are always involved in spiritual warfare with Satan and his minions. Artists who seriously take up the challenge of painting icons in order to give glory to the truth, goodness, and beauty of God will inevitably be hit on all sides by interior and exterior temptations to either walk away from the ministry of iconography or to somehow transform it into some other type of venture.
    You encountered temptation; once you realized what had happened, you corrected yourself. There is no sin involved because you didn’t follow through on the temptation that was offered to you to commercialize your work.
    If the card is made for the pure desire for monetary gain, then I would say you are on thin ice. If, however, the card is made as an act of evangelization – for example, with the critically important prayer of St. Michael, or some other appropriate prayer attached, then the intent is to turn people to the Lord, through the truth, goodness, and beauty of prayer through the sacred icon.
    So, it is a fine line; one that you should continue to pray about.
    By the way, the icon of the Guardian Angel is quite beautiful, congratulations.
    Peace in Christ.

  2. It’s beautiful. Congratulations. But what will you do with it now if you have decided it’s not for commercial purposes?

    • reinkat says:

      Thanks. I will probably keep it in my house with all of the other icons until I figure out what to do. I have been told that my house is beginning to look like a church . . . not a problem!

  3. SR says:

    Love, love, love it!!! Great Job!!! This is really beautiful and I can see you all in it. God Bless, SR

  4. Biltrix says:

    I love it! Angels, especially guardian angels, always fascinate me. I like the teal-colored garments. I suppose the color symbolizes something, like sky or heaven. Or perhaps as it contrasts with the rose color of the robe, it could signify boy-child, while the rose signifies girl-child, since Christ speaks of guardian angels with regard to children in the Gospel (hence, the baby in the painting): “Their angels always look upon the face of my Father.”

    I can’t read the inscription above the baby. What does it say?

    • reinkat says:

      Thanks, Biltrix. I am not sure of why the guardian angel is wearing those colors, but it is consistent in nearly every icon and most Western paintings, too. I too immediately thought of the pink-and-blue scheme which we relate to boys and girls.
      The inscription above the baby says “Everything in God’s Hands”. Actually, a small swaddled figure in icons is not a baby per se, but is actually a soul. Most people would be attracted to this icon as a Baptismal type gift or theme, and that was my original commercial intent. It would naturally be seen as a baby in this context.

Leave a Reply

