Reading Books

I love to read.  I read every night.  Novels.  Spiritual works.  Icon books.  All good stuff (mostly).

Our pastor had a suggestion during his homily last week.  The Bible is composed of books. Why not read just one of them, amongs the other books?  Not all of it.  Just one.  Hmmm.  

  I had once decided to read the entire Bible from start to finish, but eventually stopped before even getting 1/3 of the way through.  It was a bit daunting.  To think of the Bible not as a whole but as books, such a simple and obvious way to see it as manageable parts, that makes it doable.  Well, Duh, as my kids might say.  It’s been divided into books, like, forever . . .

I look forward to the pastor’s challenge, and will begin to read, to get to know my God.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Reading Books

  1. second in command says:

    I also took the challenge and started with Matthew. Don’t know how far I’ll get, but I do have the rest of my life…

  2. A couple of years ago, my spiritual director started assigning me different books of the Bible, some old testament and all the new testament, one book each month. This was a do-able approach and good for reflection.

  3. Biltrix says:

    I was never able to read the Bible cover to cover. If I made it through Leviticus, Numbers always stopped me cold. I’ve read the NT numerous times, and cherry-picked my way through most of the OT (I thing cherry-picked is the right way to put it, because I’ve gotten a lot of fruit out of it). I’d say I’ve managed to read between 70-85% of the OT. If I focused on the parts I haven’t read yet, I could say I’ve read the whole bible, in just a couple of months, maybe. Good inspiration!

    Of couse, the focus should not be to say that one has read the entire Bible, but to retrieve the benefits God has in store for each person through the reading of his Word.

    God bless!

Leave a Reply

