St. Monica

St. Monica is my hero.  No matter that she died 1600 years ago, her example of prayer and perseverance inspires and supports me every day.  My children have left the church, and it saddens my heart.  I pray daily for them, and ask the guidance and intercession of St. Monica.  Years ago, I wrote this icon, and this  prayer:

St. Monica,  I ask you to pray with me for my children, that they may be close to God and filled with the peace of Jesus Christ.  I also ask that you pray for me, that I might have the faith, patience, and perseverance to continue to support my children with prayer throughout their lives.     Amen.

About the icon:  I made her kneeling in prayer, as her faith and persistence in prayer were the defining actions of her life.  The halo signifies the radiance of God’s grace around her. Her prayers were heard, and God’s Hand reaches to her from heaven, in a gesture of blessing and grace.  Her clothing is simple. It is brownish (however much the photography made it look orangey) to indicate humility and simplicity.  The veil is green, the color of life, renewal  and the presence of the Holy Spirit.  This icon is very tiny–hardly bigger than it is depicted right here. One day I want to make a larger version.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Christian Prayer, Icon, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to St. Monica

  1. SR says:

    Love the post, love the icon, love the prayer, love it all! Great job! St. Monica I think is a dear friend to us all. Thanks for post and God Bless, SR

  2. It is hard to see loved ones go astray, but may God hound them and make them hunger for Himself,

  3. A mother’s love and prayers are 2 of the most powerful weapons in the salvation of souls. Don’t lose heart. St. Monica hears your prayers and you know she’s praying right along with you and me.

  4. SR says:

    The best “attribute” a woman has is our “nagging.” :>) According to “men” of course! God Bless, SR

  5. You said :”My children have left the church, and it saddens my heart. ”
    May I ask why they left the Orthodox Church?

    • reinkat says:

      I appreciate your interest and empathy, but feel that those reasons are theirs, and private, so I won’t be sharing that.
      Actually, although I am an iconographer, I am Roman Catholic and not Orthodox.

  6. Biltrix says:

    Another beautiful icon! And thanks for the explanation.

    There is a saying, falsely attributed to Augustine (though no less true in and of itself): “He who sings prays twice.” I used to clarify with my Gregorian Chant students that he who sings well prays twice (meaning, of couse, that you need to put your heart, your mind, and all your effort into it — students need to be reminded of that from time to time, and teachers do too).

    Now if it’s true with regard to singing God’s praise, how can it not be true with regard to the sacred icon? And could I go so far as to say that in the writing of icons, which endure after the initial work is done, the artist prays perpetually as long as she perseveres along with it? I think so.

    With the Icon of Saint Monica, you certainly bring in yet another prayer from Monica, and now here, another, and another… because we are all uniting our intentions with yours now. Don’t be too surprised when your prayers are answered!

    • reinkat says:

      Hey, thank you, Biltrix. That is really nice and encouraging. I hadn’t thought about the prayer going on with the icon, but of course, that makes perfect sense.
      Thank you for uniting your intentions with mine, I really need that lately: it is very isolating being a Catholic iconographer, especially in Oregon. I appreciate your comment so much, and am taking it all to heart.
      And oh, happy day, when these particular prayers are answered at last! Like St. Monica, I occasionally ask that I be alive to see it happen! 🙂

  7. irene says:

    Hello! It seems that I have many things in common with you, except, my babies are still all under the age of 5. 🙂 I just had a girl and named her after St. Monica (I spelled it with a K). I have been looking and looking for an icon of St. Monica in just this style and depiction, but haven’t found any to my liking, until now. Yours is wonderful, and I’m wondering if I could pay you to make me one (any size) exactly like this.

    May our Blessed Lord grant you your heart’s desires, and St. Monica – Pray for us!

    Thank You and God bless you and the gift He has given you!

  8. Monique says:

    Your icon of Saint Monica is beautiful. I’m Greek Orthodox and Saint Monica is my patron saint. I’ve been looking for an icon of Saint Monica for some time but haven’t found one as beautiful as yours. Would you be willing to make one like this to sell to me?
    Thank you for your beautiful posts and may God give you strength to continue with your inspiring work!

  9. M says:

    Greetings in Christ! Your icon is a lovely tribute to such an inspirational saint. I am Eastern Orthodox, and I have been asking for St. Monica’s intercessions for nearly two decades for my husband and children. I am sorry about your children not being in the church; as a Christian mother myself, it’s heartbreaking. We can wrap them in God’s love and though the prayers of the Mother of God and St. Monica, they will find their way! I wish you peace and blessings.

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you, M. for your prayers as well as your kind words and taking time to comment. I keep praying and praying and St.Monica gives me hope that someday their hearts will be softened and turn back to the Lord. God bless you in your prayers and for your family.

  10. Pingback: Praying with St. Monica for the lost sheep | reinkat

Leave a Reply

