Icon of the Annunciation

It felt good to paint again today at last.  It’s been weeks since I last picked up a paintbrush.  I am working on the icon of the Annunciation, which I began several months ago.

Painting this image, with the the Christ Child “shown” in the womb of Mary, brings to my mind all of the recent blog-posts, conflicts and the controversy over abortion that an election year always intensifies.

I decided to dedicate my prayers as I work on this Holy Image to the unborn children in this country.  I also pray for every woman who is considering an abortion this day, to allow the love of Jesus and the prayers of Mary, the angels, and all of the saints to turn her heart.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Catholic icons, Christian Prayer, Icon, Iconography, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Icon of the Annunciation

  1. Sartenada says:

    Wow. I appreciate highly Your icon art. You have made it so skillfully.

    I think that You do not know that in Finland icon painting is great hobby. We have courses around in Finland to learn to paint them. Until now I have made only one post, but during this autumn, I’ll publish one more.

    Here is my post presenting icons by ordinary people:

    Orhodox icons 1

    Happy week-end!

    • reinkat says:

      Hello Sartenada, thank you for the comments. I looked at your blog and was very impressed by both your icons and your photography. I look forward to reading and seeing more!

  2. SR says:

    Love the icon and post. Most of all I love what you are “dedicating your prayers for.” What a blessed thing to do, of course from such a gentle and loving soul as yours. Keep us updated and I know you loved “picking up your paintbrush again.” One day I will do that with my charcoal. God Bless, SR

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you, SR. Sometimes the icon, both in subject and in prayer, takes the lead itself, as the Spirit works through it all.
      I hope that when you begin to create art once again, it leads you to deep prayer. Blessings to you!

  3. Congrats, I like your design for it.

  4. reinkat says:

    Many thanks to all who have liked and commented on my blog. And followed it as well!

  5. Biltrix says:

    Beautiful icon, Reinkat! The prayer is very profound. A lot of prayerful thought went into this icon. We need to contemplate more deeply on Jesus in the Virgin’s womb in order to appreciate the value of life. Thank you for praying for these things through your art and sharing all this here. God bless!

Leave a Reply

