All Sorts of Blessings

I was camping in Southeastern Oregon this past week, and it was glorious.  What an amazing, beautiful place.  Filled with surprises and wonders. 

I came home refreshed and content, filled with energy and love of God.  And when I got here, I found that I have been further blessed with 2 awards, each one given twice, by two different bloggers. 

                                                                                                 

Thank you to 1catholicsalmon (http://1catholicsalmon.com) for these honors.  I have just recently found this blog, and love the imagery and profound thoughts. 

Thank you also to biltrix (http://biltrix.com) one of my all-time favorite blogs that educate and inform with brilliant writing and thought-provoking posts that have changed my thinking on several topics.

I appreciate you both, and send prayers and thanks to you.

For the SuperSweet award, there are 5 questions to be answered:

  1. Cookie or cake? cookies!  Peanut butter chocolate chip
  2. Chocolate or Vanilla? Deep, dark chocolate ice cream.  nothing else compares.
  3. What is your favourite sweet treat? Deep dark chocolate ice cream, rich and creamy!
  4. When do you crave sweet things the most? dawn to dark.
  5. If you had a sweet nickname, what would it be?  I’ve been called Poopface. How sweet is THAT?

For the Thought-Provoking Blog Award, I am to tell 7 things about myself. 

1.  Today I sat through 6 hours of required training on the topic of “Respectful Working Place”.  Which was only marginally better than going to work on my regular shift.

2.  Yesterday, at my other job, my till balanced to zero for the 5th week in a row.

3.  My dog Larry hurt his leg today.  A visit to the vet is slated for tomorrow.  We think he tore his ACL.  Yes, dogs have ACLs.  The surgery is approximately $3,000.00.  I will be working 2 jobs for a looooonnnnnng time.

4.  I write to my mother in California every Sunday night, and call her in the evenings.

5.  I hope to go camping in Southeastern Oregon again, several times more at least.

6.  We stopped by the BLM Wild Horse corrals on our trip, and fell in love with a pretty black Mustang mare. I wish I could bring her home with me.

7.  My brother told me that he thought the horse of my dreams has a mean face.  Hmm.  What do you think?  I like her. I think she is lovely and bold.

Now comes the awkward part.  I am to nominate several (7 to 12) other blogs for each award.  I don’t know that many bloggers.  I don’t read that many blogs.   The ones I did check, already have these awards.  So, I am going to drop the ball, and not forward these awards on at this time.  Maybe I will discover some that are new to me one day soon, and I will come back and do my proper duty.

Thank you again to 1catholicsalmon, blitrix, and all who follow, comment, or like my blog. I appreciate every one of you.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to All Sorts of Blessings

  1. That is one lovely horse – actually, her face is gorgeous. Can a horse be gorgeous?

  2. The Mustang mare looks intelligent and strong-willed. Beautiful. You have included wonderful images at the beginning of the post…Southeastern Oregon looks so inviting!

  3. Biltrix says:

    What beautiful places you visited out in Southern Oregon! I’ll have to make it across the country some day, for fun, to take in the wonders of God’s creation I still haven’t feasted my eyes on. The horse does not look mean but formidable. But that’s the way I think of all horses — beautiful and powerful creatures, some of the most noble animals God had the mind to make.

    Congratulations on the awards!

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you! Oregon is beautiful end to end, top to bottom. I hope you get to visit someday.

      God has indeed made some incredible animals. The horse is one of my favorites. But one day, I’d like an opportunity to ask God about Tyrannosaurus Rex. What was He thinking?!

  4. SR says:

    Loved the pictures!!! Again I must say, “God is such a wonderful artist!” As far as the awards cannot think of a better blog for them. As far as the horse, “Any horse is beautiful to me!” I was looking at the three in my Dad’s pasture the other day and was thinking, “Magnificent!” That is the only word I can ever come up with for a horse! As far as your dog, “What’s up?” I will ask St. Francis to help him. Loved the post! God Bless, SR

    • reinkat says:

      Thanks, SR. As for horses: ditto on your opinion about them!
      My dog is doing okay. His ACL is not completely torn, so surgery is not necessary right. He has 2 months of enforced rest and recuperation. None of this affected his sunny, gentle disposition.

Leave a Reply

