Thanks so much.

Thank you, Biltrix, for this honor.  I am very grateful.  It is amazing to me. It stands out among all other awards for me.

The rules of this award say:

If you accept the award, display the badge.

Name your favorite saint, and why.
Name your favorite part of the Mass, and why.
Name your favorite part about being a Catholic.

(Linking back to this page is optional.)

My favorite saint is St. Monica.  She was a mom, like me, with children who did not stay with the faith she taught them when they were young.  She never gave up, never stopped praying for them, and in the end, her prayers were answered. I ask her to pray with me daily for the conversion of my sons as well.

My favorite part of the Mass is the Gloria, for its joy and the beauty of the words of praise.

My favorite part of being Catholic is the richness and diversity of the tradition, the freedom to express love of God in the ways that are most meaningful to me, and still be part of a larger whole.

I would like to, in turn, nominate a fellow blogger, artist,  photographer and Eastern Orthodox  iconographer, who reveals God’s beauty through creation, in every post.  He is indeed a Light of Christ, and thus I will pass this award on to him, and hope that he accepts it in the spirit in which it is given, and adapts the “rules” to his own tradition:

Words”   http://apostolcornel.wordpress.com/

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thanks so much.

  1. SR says:

    Congrats, Girlfriend! Well deserved I might add! God Bless, SR

  2. Thank you very much.
    I understand very well this award, it’s something different. A while ago I had a post, http://apostolcornel.wordpress.com/2012/05/01/the-exception-that-proves-the-rule// I hope you will understand. But I will write here my answer.

    My favourite Saint. If I have to choose just one, I’ll choose Mother of God, Virgin Mary. I have a lot of Saints which I love (I love all of them but I think I have to mention just one). I believe no one on this earth will be as Mother of God is. So pure, wih so many love for everyone, with such a deep hearth.

    My favourite part of Holy and Divine Liturgy. I love the whole Liturgy but I most like: when it’s a service and a bishop is attending and it’s chanted “Holy God, Holy the Firm, Holy the Immortal’ and Bishop says ‘Domine Domine, respice de caelo et vide, et visita vineam istam et perfice eam quam plantavit dextera tua! ‘ http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EwQ5oPLcmk4 and Άξιον Εστίν – Axion Estin – It is Truly Meet http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YpBh0S8j7fI.

    My favourite part of being Orthodox is the joy of believing, love and forgivness.http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NqqrkOnxYdQ&feature=relmfu

    • reinkat says:

      Thanks for your comment, Cornel. I do understand, totally, and will probably post something like your post one day soon. I am happy that you answered the questions. I love your answers. I do not know too many Orthodox prayers, but love the same one that you mentioned: the chanting 3 times of Holy God, Holy Mighty, Holy Immortal. I often say that prayer while painting. God bless you, my brother in Christ.

  3. Biltrix says:

    Congratulations, Reinkat! I like your answers. I also like the new cover photo with the antelope (they are antelope, right?)

  4. Biltrix says:

    Hi, Reinkat! I remember reading your exchange with Cornel Apostol above, about blogger awards. I hope this is not breaking any sort of unwritten blogger etiquette protocol, but I wanted to ask you this time before I offered you the nomination. I just got “tagged” in the “blogathon” and passed it on to a few. One of the few was Fr Jason’s new blog, and I will be suggesting some blogs to him for passing it forward. Would you be interested in receiving any more awards? Please let me know. God bless!

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you for asking. As much as I am thrilled, flattered, and honored by being nominated, it does seem to have become somewhat circular for me. That is my fault, without much more than 20 or 30 minutes a day max to read & write blog stuff. So my blog connections are limited. So, I will pass on it for a while, with humble thanks for even thinking of me in this regard. I saw on Biltrix that you must have guessed this already, and congratulations to all of the wonderful bloggers whom you have honored with this latest award. God bless each of you!

Leave a Reply

