It seemed like a good idea at the time . . .

. . . and it probably still is.  Just way more work than anticipated.

I am organizing an icon exhibit at a local Catholic gift/book store.  The theme is “The Holy Saints”.

I have gathered up the work of 7 iconographers, with the possibility of a last-minute 8th contributor.  It was exciting to discover that there were that many iconographers in the general area.  There are 18 icons (and maybe 20 if that elusive 8th iconographer agrees to lend his work).  The exhibit will run for 3 weeks.  I will install the icons this Friday for the Grand Opening on the 21st.  Our hope is to educate local faith communities about icons–and to bring together Orthodox and Catholic people, with the Holy Images as a bridge.

So, instead of painting–or blogging–I have been typing up lists and descriptions, writing copy for advertising, making a flyer, making handouts for the exhibit, typing up little explanatory blurbs for each icon, and so on.  Who knew?  I foolishly thought I’d just get some icons together and go hang ’em up!  This will be a very nice exhibit, with speakers/presentations, and a very nice variety of styles and techniques.  It is work, but it is a joyous, purposeful work that has been a blessing to all involved.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Catholic icons, Catholicism, Christian Prayer, Icon, Iconography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to It seemed like a good idea at the time . . .

  1. Sarah says:

    They’re simply lovely. Good luck with the exhibit!

  2. Congratulations! Wish I could be there.

  3. Biltrix says:

    It sounds like a great idea. I’m looking forward to hearing how it turns out. God bless!

  4. reinkat says:

    Thank you for the likes, the comments, and the new “follows”. I appreciate you all so very much.

  5. Biltrix says:

    Turned out to be a great idea, considering the surprise God had in store for you. I take the St Nicholas icon return as a sign of blessing and fruitfulness. I’m very happy for you!

    • reinkat says:

      Thanks! I have a sense that this was the purpose behind it all the time–that and helping a struggling store owner survive while providing a needed service in town.

Leave a Reply

