The Wonderworker Works a Wonder

The icon exhibit opened today.  It isn’t exactly a museum-perfect display, pretty amateur actually, but I learned a lot about presentation and promotion.   The icons themselves are beautiful and prayerful.

I went over for the Grand Opening, and there were a fair number of people milling around the little store.  Some of the other iconographers were there, and we chatted and enjoyed the refreshments and watched the people.

Over the murmur of voices I heard someone ask: “how can I get “reinkat’s” phone number?”  I walked over and introduced myself.  A woman was holding one of my greeting cards in her hand, the one of St. Nicholas the Wonderworker.  (Perhaps some of you remember reading about my icon of St. Nicholas last March, and the loss of the original image.  To recap briefly, it was on display in a store, sold by mistake, and the buyer refused to return it.)

She held up the greeting card, looked me in the eye, and said “I have this.  I want to give it back.”

I was floored.  Absolutely shocked, to tell the truth, almost in tears.  She said that she had cherished it, loved it, admired it, but felt that “he wants to come home.”  She said she always felt that she should return it, if and when she was able to find the iconographer.  And there we were.  About two hours later, she dropped the icon off to me at work, whole and undamaged.

So I have my St. Nicholas the Wonderworker icon back with me now at last, many months later.  Praise God!  My prayers were answered, and I thank Him for this blessing.  I think a little bit about it all, wondering how she could do what she did last spring, but I think the best course is to let it go, to continue to forgive, and to rejoice at the return of this Holy Image.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Catholic icons, Christian Prayer, Icon, Iconography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Wonderworker Works a Wonder

  1. nateaddington says:

    Congrats on a successful show! If I am ever in [insert where you live here] I would love to add one of your icons to my collection. I have three, two of which are cheap knock offs from stands in Italy, but one of Thomas the Apostle was done by the Monks in Meteora Greece, picked that one up when I was there in 2008.

    • reinkat says:

      Thanks, Nate.
      I would love to see one of my icons in your collection! What a treasure you have in your Greek image of St.Thomas. If your “knock-off” icons are handpainted and not mounted paper reprints, then they were probably done prayerfully as well. Icons are not copied, they are translated!

      • nateaddington says:

        Indeed, and the other two( a Seabastion and a Francis) are just mounted paper reprints. But they still are beautiful and help me achieve the purpose of a true icon. But I will be honest in saying I would love to someday replace them with “real” ones.

  2. SR says:

    Beautiful!!! I am so proud for you when you got your icon back!!! I know it made you cry, as it would have me. Just reading it made me cry! My heart is leaping with joy for you! God Bless, SR

  3. Biltrix says:

    WOW!!! You have St Nicolas back! I remember reading your post about how it accidentally got sold. Congratulations! Good things come to those who love God; or “For those who love God all things work together for good” — Romans 8:28.

    By the way, I have a question for you that I will ask in a comment in another place. God bless!

Leave a Reply

