Annunciation Icon Prayers

I worked a bit today on my icon of the Annunciation.  I had dedicated the prayers over this icon for the unborn children in this world, and asked God to move the hearts of women considering an abortion today, and the hearts of those who work in the clinics.

As the details emerge, Mary’s face is becoming unbearably sad.  Not really fitting for the news the angel has just given her, but certainly a development fitting the prayers that are going into the image.  I tried to change her expression a couple of times, but still she looks so sorrowful.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Icon, Iconography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Annunciation Icon Prayers

  1. nateaddington says:

    would love to see it when it is done.

    • reinkat says:

      Thanks! I can’t wait to share with you all when I finally finish it.

      • nateaddington says:

        How long do you normally spend on each Icon?

      • reinkat says:

        I manage 1 or 2 icons per year, but if I were to have the privilege of actually working fulltime and straight-through on them: about 150-200 hours on average for making&prepping the board, making&transferring a drawing, painting, gilding, and final varnish coat. That would be about typical, I think, for an icon like this one about 12X16 in size.

      • nateaddington says:

        My mind exploded a little bit just thinking about that. So amazing.

Leave a Reply

