Something beautiful to share

Sometimes you don’t need to understand the words . . .

 

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Christian Prayer, Icon, Iconography and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Something beautiful to share

  1. paroland says:

    THANKS, KATHY, THAT IS REALLY BEAUTIFUL!! LOVE; PATTY

  2. Biltrix says:

    I meant to comment on this before but I got called away and left the page. The Greek language is beautiful *especially* when it is sung. I can only pick out words when I hear it spoken or sung, as opposed to reading it. Thanks for the video.

    I wanted to ask, though, do you know how to embed videos on your blog? It is pretty easy. Would you like me to explain it to you? Nothing technical to it.

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you–I loved that little video of the chanting in Greek, and am glad others enjoyed it as well. There is so much beauty in the Orthodox faith.
      Embed videos: yes, I’d love to know how. I tried to figure it out but nothing worked. Please do explain, either here–or via email so that I can easily store it to refer to in the future. Thank you!

      • Biltrix says:

        Okay, it is very simple. On Youtube, immediately below the video screen are 5 buttons. One of those buttons says “Share”. (1) Click the “Share” button; (2) Click the “Embed” button that appears next to the code in the drop-down menu; (3) (*optional*) Un-check the box that says “Show suggested videos when the video finishes”** ; (4) Copy the code that appears in the window; (5) paste that code where you want the video to appear in you post; (6) Save changes and preview.

        Voila!

        ** On step 3: Step 3 is optional. If you do not uncheck that box the suggested videos will appear on in the Youtube screen after the video is finished. None of those boxes need to be checked. You should only have to do this step the first time you embed a video on your blog, and then Youtube remembers it as a setting for the future (maybe that is only if you have an account on Youtube; I’m not sure).

        I hope this helps. You could try it with the video in this post to see if it works.

        God bless!

      • reinkat says:

        Thank you so much. I never tried from the “YouTube” side. 🙂 Only from WordPress.

      • reinkat says:

        😦 I’ve tried it and tried it, with this post & video, and it doesn’t work. Technology might be easy for everybody else, but a nightmare of frustration for me. I saved your instructions, though. Maybe it is because I am editing something that is already published?? Thank you for taking time to write it all out.

      • Biltrix says:

        Incidentally, this morning while working on my own post, I just noticed that Youtube recently changed it’s format and it took me about 5 minutes to figure out how to embed a video with their new changes. Here is the glitch:

        The new first step is that you have to “like” the video (thumbs up). Then the share options appear. The “embed” option is no longer a button but a “sort of” tab, to the immediate right of the words “share this video.” Once you click on the word “embed” the window with the code should appear, and the code should already be selected (in blue). If you copy that code and paste it where you want it, it *should* work…

        Of course, patience has it’s limits, especially when it comes to developing technology. So, good luck. I hope you are able to get it to work.

        God bless!

  3. Biltrix says:

    Sorry that should be “its” not “it’s”, obviously. I’m bad with typos…

  4. reinkat says:

    It worked, Biltrix! It worked! Thank you for all of your patient help!

Leave a Reply

