A Gift to Myself

I gave myself a gift of quiet time for Christmas:  3 days at a Trappist Abbey for a private retreat.

Time to sit and reflect upon Christmas, on family and issues, on vocations and callings and the will of God, the wonder of the Incarnation of God, and even on original sin and the Immaculate Conception.    I had time to sit and read, to take naps, to pray the Liturgy of the Hours with men whose lives are lived with prayer.

What a blessing it was, indeed.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A Gift to Myself

  1. Biltrix says:

    What a great blessing to take time to rest for a while contemplating the things of God with no worldly distractions. Truly a gift, as you put it. I’m glad you had this opportunity to renew, refresh, and recharge. I hope you had a wonderful Christmas and wish you the best for the new year. God bless!

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you, Biltrix, and I pray that your Christmas season and new year are filled with joy and blessings.
      I do indeed feel recharged, and one of my resolutions is to be more faithful with my blogging, assuming that I ever have an original thought again . . .

  2. How wonderful for you! My sentiments echo those of Biltrix. A blessed and very happy New Year to you.

  3. How special! I did investigate attending a 5 day retreat not too far from home but was disappointed at the exorbitant prices asked. With two children at university, the prices are too steep.

  4. Cornel A. says:

    I have no idea how those 3 days at a Trappist Abbey have been.
    I stayed many times in Orthodox Monasteries and I know the feeling, but never been in a Catholic one.

    • reinkat says:

      It would be fascinating to exchange experiences. I plan to post some of my experiences as soon as I get my photos in order. Be sure and ask any questions you might have. This monastery was established in the 1950s, and the church was recently rebuilt and is 3 years old. I am sure your monasteries are much older, but all are beautiful.

Leave a Reply

