Opinions Sought

They were handed out free last Sunday after Mass, to any and all who were interested.  Small booklets of daily reflections and prayers, complementary copies from the publisher for the month of January 2013.  They are nice little books. I had been thinking of subscribing to a publication like this for some time, and this gift has brought it back to the forefront of my mind.  There are at least 3 different booklets of this sort available– that I know of.    The Word Among Us.    The Magnificat.    And now this latest offering:  Give Us This Day.

I think I will try to incorporate these prayer/reflection guides  into my daily schedule this year.  All of the options seem to be similar and likely each is good in its own way.  How to decide?  I wonder if any of you out there have a recommendation for me as to which one of these, or any other, is a good choice.

Do you have a favorite that you use?  If you have tried any of these books, or even more than one, what do you see as its strengths and particular unique qualities?

Thanks so much for any help that you might be able to offer me.   Funds are limited, so my choosing must be carefully done.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Christian Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Opinions Sought

  1. lamehousewife says:

    The Magnificat is the only I have used from those you mentioned, but I have always really appreciated it since it covers Saints, morning prayers, evening prayers, daily Mass readings, and meditations from holy people and Saints that are relevant to today’s questions. God bless you in your discernment.

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you for your input. It sounds like the Magnificat is very well thought of, and quite similar to my complimentary copy of Give Us This Day. Thanks for taking time to share your experience with me.

  2. Hi, I am a big fan of the Magnificat because not only do I get the daily readings, but it has a shortened version of the Liturgy of the Hours. I love the LOTH but don’t always have time to do the regular one. This book is easy to carry around and it has some great articles also. I also love the feel of it. The pages are soft like the old prayer books used to be!!!! So comforting!!!

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you, Catholic Cat, for taking time to comment. I really appreciate it. I hear nothing but good things about the Magnificat, so maybe that is a good way to go. I, too, love the Liturgy of the Hours, but can’t seem to find the time at this stage of my life. God bless, and thanks again for your help.

  3. paroland says:

    Hi Kathy, I see many of the Magnificat here at St. Peters!! I don’t subscribe, but when ever I read one, I wish I did. ~ I liked the white, (or other color) little books they handed out each Lent & Advent, & other times, at Newman.
    Hope you are well & happy.
    Have a great New Years~~~
    Love;
    Patty

    • reinkat says:

      Hey, Patty, thank you so much, and I wish you a wonderful 2013. Everybody who has responded has loved the Magnificat. I think I will take a copy of my book and compare it directly, page by page, with this one.
      Those little books from Cincinnati are great, aren’t they? I use them faithfully, they are short enough to take to work and pray on a breaktime. Blessings to you.

  4. Hi,
    My wife’s daily prayer is centered around the Magnificat publication. She enjoys it very much, finds it very fulfilling, and it usually has an article on the sacred art of the Church in every issue.

    • reinkat says:

      Ooooh. I didn’t know about the articles about art. That is, as you might guess, pretty important to me. The Magnificat certainly has a good reputation–from one end of the continent to the other. Thanks for your response. God bless you.

  5. I have several books on daily Catholic reflections that I have really loved. Among them my favorites are: “Medjugorje Day by Day” by Richard J. Beyer and “The Old Hernit’s Amanac” by Father Edwad Hays. Other great prayer books that don’t necessarily follow a daily format are: “Prayers for a Planetary Pilgrim” and “Prayers for a Domestic Church” both by Edward Hays; “Seasons of your Heart” by Sister Macrina Wiedekehr;; and “Sadhana: A Way to God” by Father Anthony DeMello. ~ Happy prayer to you!

    • reinkat says:

      Wow, thank you! All of these titles are new to me, and I look forward to tracking them each down during the year and reading them. I try to always have some spiritual reading handy, in addition to my boundless supply of novels. So far my favorite has been Beginning to Pray by Anthony Bloom.

  6. Oops, “Old Hermit’s Almanac” – that is a great one!

  7. Biltrix says:

    The only one of these that I am familiar with is Magnificat. That one is pretty popular. I would second the other opinions that were shared above. Now if you have a smartphone or iPhone or iPad, I’d like to recommend the “Laudate” app. It’s free and has daily Mass readings, Liturgy of the Hours, order of the Mass, rosary, chaplet, preparation for confession, stations of the cross, prayers, Latin prayers, the Catechism, Vatican II docs, Bible, and more. under the daily readings it has more: saint of the day, reflection, daily meditation, Pope Benedict’s meditation, podcasts from USCCB, etc… … Almost too much stuff, but you can just use what you want.

    Laudate app: http://catholicapps.com/laudate/

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you, I will have to check it out, on my regular computer, though, I guess. I do have a cell phone, though, just in case I ever have to dial 9-1-1. That is about all it is good for, and I am fine with that. That does sound like an interesting app, and I appreciate the input about Magnificat. Everybody seems to like that one!

    • reinkat says:

      I finally got to compare side by side Give Us This Day with the Magnificat. They are very similar. And I wanted to tell you: I was at my faith-sharing group this morning, shared the link to Laudate app that you gave me, and everybody (who had an iPhone/iPad) just loved it. Sadly for the Magnificat, that will mean 2 less subscriptions this year, but this had so much to offer for so many situations. Thank you from all of us.

Leave a Reply

