Lenten Reflection

I have been enjoying this simple page of Lenten reflections, and thought I’d share it with you all.  It always takes a while to load on my computer, so I just position the cursor someplace and wait . . . and whichever questions it lands on, I spend some time in prayerful thought  with it.  It reminded me of being a child, when I would open up a Bible and read whatever passage appeared there, as a message to me.  It comes on my computer as a pretty PDF with colors and images, but I can’t seem to make it work on WordPress.  It is the words that matter, after all!  So here they are:

Jesus’ Seven Last Words & Eight Words of Easter
Spend a week with each “word” as you journey through this holy season.

“Father, forgive them, they know not what they do.”    What door to forgiveness for moral wrongdoing in my life do these words open to me?

“Today you will be with me in Paradise.”  What wounded part of my life needs the encouragement and healing of this word?

“Woman, behold your son. … Behold, your mother.”   Whom have I had to release to the hard work of dying? What has that letting go been like for me?

“My God, my God, why have you forsaken me?”  How might this word, from Psalm 22, be inviting me to deeper relationship with Jesus and his Father through the Psalms?

“I thirst.”  What interior thirst of my own becomes more apparent to me with this word?

“It is finished.”  Is my own mission clear enough to allow me to say, with Jesus, “It is finished”? What is this mission?

“Father, into your hands I commend my spirit.”  What might be my final words? What will I most want to express with my final breath?

“Woman, why are you weeping?”  What irreversible loss have I grieved in my life?What loss have I not yet grieved?

“Go tell my brothers.”  In what troubled situation in my life have I been astonished to suddenly encounter the Lord?

“Stop holding on to me.” What too small understanding of the risen Lord must Ilet go in order to receive what he desires to give me?

“What are you discussing as you walk along?”  When have my eyes and my understanding been unexpectedly opened to the Lord’s presence?

“Peace be with you.”  What situation that has me in the grip of fear might be ready to shift through faith and grace?

“As the Father has sent me, so I send you.”  What restrictions do I set around my availability to the Lord? What courageous first step must I take to live generously for the reign of God?

“Receive the holy Spirit.”  When did I last breathe in, deeply and intentionally, the holy Spirit of the risen Lord? Do I have the courage to do it now?

“Go, therefore, and make disciples.”  What does my discipleship look like—not as I wish it were, but as it actually is?

Excerpts from Seven Last Words and Eight Words of Easter, by Mary Sharon Moore. Reprinted with permission of the author. © Mary Sharon Moore, 2013. All Rights Reserved.

www.awakeningvocations.com

 

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Christian Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Lenten Reflection

  1. SR says:

    Loved this! Will be back later to comment. So much tought here to give a quick one. This is wonderful. God Bless, SR

  2. Biltrix says:

    Wow! One could write a separate post with each one of these reflections. Thanks for sharing the page with us.

    • reinkat says:

      Plenty of food for thought! In fact, I do believe it already is a full-blown book. It would be interesting to post about each one and then read the thoughts/intentions of the author. We all see and understand everything so uniquely.

  3. SR says:

    Well I am back. I thought about this post a lot today. It was a perfect day for it. This really spoke to me Reinkat, on how I truly need to take “one of these daily,” ponder on it, and try and find an answer to each and every one of them. They all were excellent but the one which spoke to me today was, “It is finished.” “What is the mission?” “Is my mission clear enough to allow me to say it is finished with Jesus?”

    In my toughts on this, we truly cannot say it, before the “mission is clear.” Sometimes we start out, without that clarity. That is a big mistake. How can we “finish” something if we have no idea of what it was at the “starting gate?”

    Excellent post and I enjoyed reading and thinking on it today. God Bless, SR

    • reinkat says:

      Thanks for the comment. I agree totally. coincidentally, I was thinking of that same post today. I need to give it more thought, as I never did come up with a clear idea of my mission. I am too scattered yet, and need to take this to prayer.

  4. francisca leighton says:

    hope the Lord helps you to paint the words in icons!

  5. Pingback: I Love the way God Answered my Prayer! | Being Faithful to Grace

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you SR. I will let Mary Sharon know how much you appreciated and gained from her reflection page. I know she will be heartened and gladdened by this post.

Leave a Reply

