Beloved by God

I was at the coast last week, enjoying a few days relaxing with friends.   We ate, talked, prayed, walked, watched movies, read, and enjoyed some beautiful weather together.  The air was so clear that one could see the curve of the earth on the ocean horizon.  The waves broke ceaselessly on the shore, the roar steady and somehow comforting.  At night a million stars twinkled in the dark heavens and reflected into the crashing surf.

I sat there one evening in the stillness, looking up at those stars.  I remembered hearing people say that looking up at that vast universe made them feel so insignificant, so small, a mere speck.

As I looked at the glorious creation of God, the enormity of the sea, and the infinite distances of the universe, what I felt was not my own small self.  I was filled instead was love and awe for the Creator.  How His glory shines through all of His works.  I was filled with wonder that night, not only at the breadth and might and glory of creation, but for the fact that I myself, so otherwise insignificant,  am beloved. So much so that, out of all the hugeness and possibilities of the universe, God Himself came down to earth– and died. Just for me.  Just for you.

How could a heart be filled with anything but gratitude and gladness! My mind echoed the words of the Psalmist:

When I consider your heavens, the work of your fingers, the moon and the stars, which you have set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him, the son of man that you care for him? – Psalm 8:3-4

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Christian Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Beloved by God

  1. SR says:

    Beautiful and wonderful! Isn’t it wonderful when we get out in nature and see all God created. I as you relate to Him so well in that setting. I could not help but think when others “saw themselves so small in contrast with our vast universe,” yet, He loves us more then all else in creation. Glad you are back, wonderful post, and hope you are well rested! God Bless, SR

    • reinkat says:

      Thanks, SR! Bugs and all, I think of the wilderness as the church that God has made for us. And He is gracious to come and join us as well in the churches we build to honor Him.

  2. Lyn says:

    Reminds me of a video that was shared on facebook the other day…you might like to see it too. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7zWKm-LZWm4 Blessings! Lyn

  3. geloruma says:

    Beautiful post ReinKat.
    I think artists have been given the grace of recognising God’s hand in creation to fulfil a task while here on earth – to praise Him for it.
    When I was young I thought everyone could see colours and stuff in this way; but some do not see it – or choose not to – taking it all for granted, or to use to their own ends.
    I love the descriptions of Gods creative power in Job ch 38 onward…

    • reinkat says:

      Me, too. I was not even young any more when I made the astonishing discovery that not everybody reacted to scenery–ie, color, texture, shape, line–the way I do. That is too bad for them! 🙂

Leave a Reply

