Thank you

The Liebster Award

Many thanks to one of my favorite blogs, 1catholicsalmon, for nominating me for this award.  Check out her blog, filled with insights both original and gathered from all over the world to share.  I have loved since first reading the imagery of the name chosen for the blog:  a mighty fish struggling against the current to return home–so appropriate  for being Catholic in today’s secular world, and I totally relate.

So, the rules for acceptance of this award are put forth thusly:

1) Post the Liebster award graphic on your site: 
2) Thank the blogger who nominated the blog for a Liebster Award and link back to their blog.
3) The blogger then writes 11 facts about themselves so people who discover their blog through the Liebster post will learn more about them.
4) In addition to posting 11 fun facts about themselves, nominated bloggers should also answer the 11 questions from the post of the person who nominated them.
5) The nominated blogger will in turn, nominate 9 other blogs with 200 or less followers (We’re guessing for our nominees) for a Liebster award by posting a comment on their blog and linking back to the Liebster post.
6) The nominated blogger will create 11 questions for their nominated blogs to answer in their Liebster post.

So, here goes:     11 Facts about myself:

1)  I have worn glasses since I was 10 years old.

2) The most refreshing and restorative thing I do for myself is hike and camp in the mountains.

3) I am going to celebrate my 35th wedding anniversary this summer.

4) I like to dress my dogs up in costumes and take their pictures.  They are patient boys, very patient.

5) I have no gift for learning languages at all.  I tried Spanish during high school, college, and adult ed, to no avail.

6) I learned more about the world by being a host mom for international students than by anything else I have done.

7) I am bored with TV, quite a few movies, and nearly all youtube videos.

8) Growing up in the era of hippies and steeped in talk of “tolerance” and “diversity”, I felt that I would never be shocked, disgusted or even surprised, by  any new fads, fashions or trends of young people.  I was wrong.

9) I lived in Los Angeles for 37 years.  That was enough.

10) As a child, I was totally convinced that God lived in Sequoia National Park.  I still cannot imagine a more fitting location for paradise.

11) I read 3 or 4 books a month, mostly novels. It is fortunate that I work in a public library!  I have struck the Mother Lode of books!

Some questions for the next nominees to ponder and perhaps answer if they should want to:

What is the best book you have ever read?

Do you have a home altar, and what is it like?

Which Scripture passage touches you the most deeply?

What is your favorite quote, Biblical or otherwise?

Do you give money to panhandlers with cardboard signs standing on street corners?

What was the best vacation you have ever taken?

Are you a cat person or a dog person?

How long have you been blogging, and why did you start?

Are there icons in your parish church?

Answers to the questions that 1catholic salmon posed for nominees:

      • What inspired you to start blogging?  I wanted to reach out and find other iconographers and people who were interested in this prayer form.  We are few and far between, it seems.
      • Religious leader you admire?  I admire Mother Theresa more than any other, for her selfless carrying out her principles for the love of Jesus.  Reading her writings in “Come Be My Light”, her honesty, humility and faithfulness totally won me over.
      • Do you think having pets changes you? Absolutely:  they have made me a better person in every way.  I learn from my dogs daily.
      • Is family important and why?  Yes, family forms you in the most basic and elemental way, makes you who you are.
      • Do you pray regularly?  Yes, several times daily, and always while painting. I have made my password to the computer at work a brief prayer, so that everytime I log on I am reminded to pray.
      • Why is your Christian witness important?  It is important always to be conscious of your witness in word and deed, because each person impacts every other person they interact with, planting seeds of love and trust in God.  You may not ever know how you influence someone, but I believe that every encounter leaves a mark on everyone involved.  Spreading the faith is our job as laity, something that cannot be left for somebody else to do.
      • Do you think Jesus’ message is radical? Yes, but the degree depends on the culture and country. For my American society, it is extremely radical, so much so that to truly follow Jesus is to put yourself outside of the popular culture, and to separate yourself from the values and trends of nearly everyone around you.  He gives us much, but he also asks much.
      • What’s the favorite habit of your parish priest?  Well, I don’t really know his habits.  He is very fond of his Dominican robes, but of course you don’t mean THAT kind of habit.   I do like that his homilies deliberately challenge rather than placate or condescend.

Blogs that I nominate for the Liebster award:

My Hopebox:    filled with humor and thoughtful observations on faith

The Back of the World:   so many icons! with prayers and reflections–and a fabulously interesting conversion story

Lilyboat:   deeply personal, honest reflections along with original poetry.  very inspiring and filled with faith.

Francisca Leighton:   beautiful religious paintings, reflections in English and Spanish

New Things:   sharing thoughts on life and faith.  A wonderful, friendly blog

Roses Near Running Water:  I just recently found this blog, filled with insightful posts on faith, prayer, Scripture, and the happenings in modern life

One Little Sail:  wonderful stories about life, faith and art from one who paints, sculpts,  and also restores church statuary.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thank you

  1. francisca leighton says:

    thank you dear reinkat… and i´ve enjoyed so much your post about Popes together with russian icon of the Mother of God….Thanks to Our Lord… but i think i’m a bad blogger, i´m spending so little time at internet, just have mine to share with you and who may like it , these saints i´m painting with the help of those who live, THANKS to THEM… thank you for sharing with us beatifull things four the soul in this world, we know we can count on your effort in you blog, a service blog! Company of Jesus!THANK YOU, waiting for your icon Heart of Jesus, Heart of Love, with Him, go on…..

  2. Lyn says:

    Thank you, Kat. What a sweet gesture!

  3. Pingback: I’ve been nominated for a major award | New Things

Leave a Reply

