John 14:27

This reflection is taken directly from the Little Books of the Diocese of Saginaw, Inc.  It is based on the writings of the late Bishop Ken Untener.  It is dedicated to SR: Being Faithful to Grace.

“Peace I leave with you; my peace I give to you.  Not as the world gives do I give it to you.  Do not let your hearts be troubled or afraid.”  (John 14:27)

The word “peace” appears 86 times in the New Testament.  Sometimes it refers to the absence of conflict.  Most often, it is used as a greeting.

When the risen Jesus met his disciples, his first words were, “Peace be with you.”  It’s the Hebrew word, Shalom.  It’s the word St. Paul used to begin a letter and to end his letters.

In today’s passage, it’s more than an idle wish for his disciples.  It’s a prayer for something to happen deep down inside of them.

When a storm blows up on a river, the waves are high, the water is rough on the surface, but if you dive down deep, it is still and peaceful.  Despite the wind blowing upstream, down deep the current still flows as it usually flows . . . peacefully.

While I’d love to have peace on the surface of my life, nobody can give me that. There are winds that blow and storms that come up.  That’s the way life is.

But I can have a deep-down peace inside my heart where I am most “me” and where I connect with God.  That’s the peace Jesus wishes for his disciples and the peace he gives them through the Spirit.

That’s the peace Jesus offers me.  What a gift.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Christian Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to John 14:27

  1. Lyn says:

    Excellent! The surface is wild and choppy…but we know the One who gives the deep down peace that passes understanding!

    • reinkat says:

      Yes, it brought mind as an analogy that I will not soon forget: snorkeling: with the waves crashing and foaming above and below, color and soft light and life in a silent serene gentle environment.
      For me, that was perfect!

  2. SR says:

    Thank you Reinkat for the dedication. It meant so much to my heart and “soul.” I loved the “the deep down where I am most me and where I connect with God.” We must keep that part of us very clean so we can connect with Him. It is like a post I did stating, “where we grasp for peace.” This is so right on where we will find in “Jesus given to us through the Holy Spirit.” That is “perfected” peace. A great job of explaining and great post! Thanks for doing it! God Bless, SR

  3. mejung24 says:

    Shalom! Thank you for sharing this post. It is a great reminder that peace comes only from Jesus…knowing that He is our God.

Leave a Reply

