Our Lady of Sorrows

It was the feastday of Our Lady of Sorrows, and it is timely for me to pray with that icon.  A friend’s younger brother died last week of cancer, and a good friend of mine is in hospice, also with cancer.  So much sorrow and grief among so many friends and family members.

I collaborated with a friend to write this icon:  I’d work on it a while, then send it to her to do the same, and back and forth until we felt it was complete.  What an exercise in humility and letting go!!!  I have always felt that it turned out more beautiful as a combined effort than either of us could have achieved alone.  Enough said:  the image can speak for itself, the brushstrokes and color more eloquent than my words could ever be.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Catholic icons, Catholicism, Icon, Iconography and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Our Lady of Sorrows

  1. njhsu says:

    Beautiful. I’m sorry to hear about your friends and family.

  2. Biltrix says:

    This is beautiful, uniting with friends in prayer this way. It give new meaning to the communion of saints for me. Thank you for sharing this!

  3. Why do you write of “writing” an icon, rather than painting it? Is that linked to the word “iconographer”?

    • reinkat says:

      Hello Clare, thanks for the comment and question. In brief, people speak of “writing” an icon rather than “painting” it because of its place in Eastern Christian liturgy. It is doctrinal, and expressing Church theology. The icon is regarded as telling the Gospel in color and line, rather than in words. Thus, it is “written”, as the Gospel is, inspired by the Holy Spirit.

  4. This icon is another example of what prayer combined with the creation of sacred art can do to uplift a person’s spirit and unite it with the pain of Our Lord and Lady, thus, making our burden a little lighter.
    Thank you for this image.

  5. Lyn says:

    Kat, you do such beautiful work. Are these pieces for sale?

    I have learned so much about icons from reading your blog. Thank you!
    Lyn

    • reinkat says:

      Thanks! I don’t know for sure how I feel about selling these icons. Maybe. Because the icon is a prayer and not a product, it is not an easy answer for me. I am, however, willing to accept to commissions, wherein you pray for me and I pray for you, and the result is a visible expression of our prayer: an icon.

Leave a Reply

