Praise God!

I have been gone from home and routine for several weeks, sitting at the hospital bedside of my critically ill mother.  She was on life support, unaware of my presence and that of my siblings.  We prayed and prayed, saying rosaries, saying the Chaplet of Divine Mercy.  And God heard our petitions:  12 days ago mom awoke, at first a bit at a time, then longer and longer . . . last week the ventilator was removed and she breathes now on her own.  Yesterday the feeding tube was removed–and minced turkey and mashed potatoes were her first meal since early January.  She loved it!

I finally returned home last night, and in reading the Evening Prayer for January 26 that night, I found this psalm.  It fit our family situation so well.  I want to share it with all of you:

I love the LORD, for he has heard

my voice, my appeal;

for he has turned his ear to me

whenever I call.

They surrounded me, the snares of death;

the anguish of the grave has found me;

anguish and sorrow I found.

I called on the name of the LORD:

“Deliver my soul, O LORD!”

How gracious is the LORD, and just;

our God has compassion.

The LORD protects the simple;

I was brought low, and he saved me.

Turn back, my soul, to your rest, 

for the LORD has been good to you;

he has kept my soul from death,

my eyes from tears, and my feet from stumbling.

I will walk in the presence of the LORD

in the land of the living.

Psalm 116: 1-9

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Christian Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Praise God!

  1. Biltrix says:

    Thank God! I will keep praying for your mother’s complete recovery. I know that this answer to your prayers must be a great relief for you and your family. I join you in praising God for this blessing.

  2. sf says:

    Praise God your Mom had gotten better and was able to eat.

  3. Lyn says:

    Kat, I’ve fallen behind on my reading (chasing toddlers doesn’t lend itself to sitting and reading much), but am catching up tonight. Saying a prayer of thanks for your Momma’s recovery. Big sigh of relief, what a rollercoaster! LOVE the verse He gave you…that’s an Ebenezer! You should frame it so you can remember the day. Love and many prayers continue for you and your Mom’s full recovery.

    Lyn

    • reinkat says:

      Thanks, Lyn, for your encouragement and prayers and love–and comments! I’ve been lax in my reading and posting as well lately. But Mom will be coming home this coming Wednesday. Praise God!

  4. lilyboat says:

    Praise the Lord! Happy to hear that your mom has recovered, and well. Praying for many happy years for her!!!

Leave a Reply

