Lenten reminders

I was on a short vacation last week, and tried to continue my Lenten practices faithfully every day.  It was not difficult to do that at all–every step I took, every minute that went by, seemed to be a reminder of God’s goodness and grace.

Rejoice always, pray continually, give thanks in all circumstances; for this is God’s will for you in Christ Jesus.” 1 Thessalonians 5:16-18

Maybe my imagination went into overdrive at times, but the connections were always there for me, helping me to move towards that goal of praying constantly, of continual awareness of the presence of God active in our lives.  The things that I saw brought prayers to my heart and soul:

the shape of a chalice in the face of a cliff

a sculpture of the head of Christ in a small chapel

the chapel itself, a place of prayer anchored onto the rocks

and thorns, calling to mind the Passion of our Savior.

There was the surprise and beauty of life amongst the harshness

Delicate,  fragile–

and thriving against all odds

And there were vistas themselves, and the vast skies,

bringing to mind at every turn of the trail the words of the psalmist:  “Be still, and know that I am God.” Psalm 46:10

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Christian Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Lenten reminders

  1. R. M. says:

    What a beautiful location, where is it?

  2. This looks like Christ in the Desert in Abiqu, NM?????

    • reinkat says:

      Nope. Chapel of the Holy Cross, Archdiocese of Phoenix, in Arizona.

      • Christ in the Desert in Abiqu NM is set like that. When you go inside and look up it is breathtaking!!! Thank you for sharing the beauty that God and man create!!

      • reinkat says:

        I hope to be able to see that someday. I have only vague memories of New Mexico, from family travels when I was a child (longer ago than I like to admit to). I know it is a beautiful place, and if I get the opportunity to visit there, I will look for this church.

      • You will have to be VERY intentional to get there!!!! It is way off the road, on a VERY bad road! But so worth the trip. They have a guest house and you can go and work with the monks or not. I was there for a day trip and loved being in Chapel when the Monks sang the office. Hope you get to go.

  3. Biltrix says:

    So soon after St Patrick’s Day, I’m reminded of seeing God all around, in everyone and all things. This theme and pictures your pictures help to bring that more into focus. God is beautiful! Thanks for this post.

  4. SR says:

    What can I say? Well done dear friend, well said dear friend, and beautiful just as your soul is. Thanks so much for giving this to us. Love and God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

