Hey Buddy, You Shouldn’t Be Carrying That Cross!

I loved this. Our parish, a Newman Center, also does a “Cross Walk”, saying the Stations of the Cross every Good Friday at noon, carrying a large cross through university neighborhoods, a park, and back to the church. I went once. There were about 30 of us, all taking part in the reading&praying aloud. It was raining. People’s reactions were interesting as they saw us. Most ignored us, some laughed and pointed, others just stared. I don’t remember any real interaction with anybody. Occasionally we got a friendly “namaste”. All were welcome to walk with us, nobody did.
I like that the NYC students asked for prayer intentions and nailed them to the cross.

Biltrix

Good Friday 2011 was a day my life significantly changed.

I was a philosophy professor at a Catholic seminary in New York at the time, and like every year for the past almost 20 years, I had planned on “celebrating” Good Friday there at the seminary and taking part in the liturgical activities there. The Liturgy of the Hours sung in Latin was one of those things you could not experience anywhere else and I did not want to miss it.

View original post 1,107 more words

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Christian Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

