Cathedral of Trees

A stream of cars pours into the parking lot, tires crunching gravel,  and come to a halt.  Doors open.  As soon as they get out of their cars,  people’s voices become hushed.

Small groups wander along the trails, looking upwards, whispering or simply remaining silent.  It is an awesome place, with shafts of light illuminating the atmosphere, tall pillars of trees reaching to the heavens, warm, quiet, peaceful, beauty wherever you look.

I can come up with no words of my own to describe the sense of wonder, what it is like to walk among these ancient redwood trees.

The photographs I took don’t do it justice, but here are some of them anyway.  I can always find inspiration in the words of the psalms, in this case, from Psalm 104.

You made springs flow into channels that wind among the mountains.

They give drink to every beast of the field; here wild asses quench their thirst.

Beside them the birds of heaven nest; among the branches they sing.

You water the mountains from your palace; by your labor the earth abounds.

How varied are your works, Lord!  In wisdom you have wrought them all; the earth is full of your creatures.

May the glory of the Lord endure forever; may the Lord be glad in these works!

I pray that these beautiful works of creation do endure.  There is only a remnant left.  It was logged heavily approximately 100 years ago.  Some stands of truly ancient trees–seedlings before Jesus was born–still stand, but they are rare.  The logging continues today. One large tree can make 2,000 picnic tables, you know.  The forest is growing back, thick and lush, in these parks.  I read that by the years 2500 to 2800, it will be a mature forest once again.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Christian Prayer, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cathedral of Trees

  1. SR says:

    Breathtaking!!!!!! I love the Psalms you gave. I as well pray that they leave them alone. I also as you, cannot come up with the words. I guess it is something one must feel in the soul, and when looking at this, how can one not feel it. You know when I look at this, I am reminded in my mind of grandeur that I at times feel about myself, all I have to do is look at something such as this, to really see how small I truly am compared to the grand scheme of things. Great post and pictures! Thank you so much for sharing them with us. Love and God Bless, SR

    • reinkat says:

      Thanks, SR.
      Being in these forests was definitely a humbling experience, but also one that made praise and gratitude bubble up from the heart, straight to God in thanks for the world He has created. So much beauty.
      I am glad you liked the photos, inadequate as they were to capture what it was like there.

Leave a Reply

