St.Michael, Pray for Us

Many of you probably know that the Oklahoma City Civic Center Music Hall has allowed the scheduling of a satanic black mass on September 21.  Archbishop Paul Coakley protested and sued to stop the event, which planned on using consecrated hosts to degrade during the ritual.  The satanist group agreed to return the hosts in exchange for the dropping of the lawsuit, and I believe that this was done.

But still, I think protests are called for. The event is on for September 21.  Archbishop Coakley has organized an hour of prayer during the time of the event for all people of good will.  Feel free to express your outrage, and here are some addresses if you decide to write:

Mayor Mick Cornett, 200 No. Walker, Oklahoma City, OK 73102

Stephen Sharp, Oklahoma Civic Center Music Hall/City Space Theatre, 201 No.Walker, Oklahoma City, OK 73102

Oklahoma Governor Mary Fallin, 2300 No. Lincoln Blvd Room 212, Oklahoma City OK 73105

There are online petitions to sign, too.  I wrote the following letter, sending a version of it to each of the individuals named above.

St. Michael, pray for us.

September 7, 2014

Mayor Mick Cornett

200 North Walker

Oklahoma City, OK  73102

Dear Mayor Cornett:

I have heard that your city is allowing a satanist black mass to be celebrated in a public building.  I am disgusted.  Although I do not live in Oklahoma City, I speak as a citizen of this country.  As an elected government official in this country, your decisions affect me, and all Americans.

I heard Jennifer McClintock say that as long as state law is not broken, that the city cannot judge content.  One such law is prohibiting lewd acts—would not the manner of desecration of a host/wafer—something that is symbolically precious to the 247 million Christians in this nation, and specifically holy and precious to the 66 million of those Christians that are Catholic—as described on the satanists’ own website: “the consecrated host is then corrupted by sexual fluids”, be considered lewd?  Whether the host is actually consecrated, or symbolic, what difference does that make in intent?  What about having a satanist woman urinate in a cup on the “altar” in front of the participants?  Don’t you have laws about public urination?  How many homeless people have had problems with that restriction?

And as for “not judging content”– please.  Would you allow a group to rent a public building to stage a parody of a gay marriage ceremony, just to mock, outrage, insult and humiliate homosexual couples with all that they hold dear?  I doubt it.  Would you allow a group to mimic a Baptist gospel choir in blackface to make fun of the culture and history from which it comes?  I suspect you would consider the offensive content of such an event.  Would you allow hate-filled nonbelievers to dress up as phony imams and ridicule prayer to Allah?  Burn a Koran in the Civic Center?  Hardly.  I am sure you would consider the content, and the offensiveness.  So why allow this—an event which is designed to mock, denigrate and insult a religious group.  Why pretend that this is different?

The claim of freedom for satanists to “practice their religion” is also questionable. What legitimate religion has as its sole central practice the insult, denigration, ridicule and disrespect of another?

Have the courage to stand up and forbid this outrageous event.  It is totally offensive.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to St.Michael, Pray for Us

  1. SR says:

    I am so proud of you. What you did here was brilliant!!!! There is nothing I can add to this to make it any better Reinkat, so I will let it stand! Your words here should be on the lips of us all, and I am saving this, so that they are. Giving you full credit of course. God Bless you my dear friend, and again, I am so proud of you! SR

    • reinkat says:

      Thanks, SR. I hope that you will feel moved to do likewise, and write a letter of your own to these misguided politically-correct folks. It just didn’t seem right for me to know about this event, and let it pass.
      What an outrage to use a public, tax-funded building for such a purpose.

  2. Amen! I am praying that this will be stopped!

Leave a Reply

