St.Tabitha meets Murphy

I took my little icon of St.Tabitha to the coast, on a short vacation, hoping to make some progress in the painting.  I worked by the window, painting industriously, but perhaps scrimping a bit in the prayer department.  I began to highlight the face, the basket of clothing, eager to finish.  Things seemed to be going okay . . .  for a while.  Then, it happened.  Murphy’s Law.  You know the one:  what can go wrong, will go wrong.

I live by it.

Haste makes waste.  That’s another one . . .

Icons are holy and prayerful, but so often they, too, run smack dab up against these tongue-in-cheek “laws”.  Especially when the prayers are scrimped on.  

I had thought I’d make the background smoother, a bit deeper, and put an even, light, transparent layer of yellow over it.  But it didn’t dry evenly.  And some of the new highlights in her face had hard, harsh edges. A “hole” developed in the middle of her throat, plus her neck looks funny.  2 dog hairs managed to imbed themselves in the paint, despite the fact that no dogs were present . . .  So now, I face making corrections, lots of them.  How to correct acrylic paint on Claybord?  I will be finding this out the hard way.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Catholic icons, Christian Prayer, Iconography and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to St.Tabitha meets Murphy

  1. I wish you the best of luck! You’re very talented, so I’m sure it will work out… 🙂

Leave a Reply

