The corrections

I had a faint memory of cleaning house one day, washing walls.  I had grabbed a cleaner, 409 it was, and began to scrub without noticing that it said on the bottle:  do not use on painted surfaces. It began to dissolve the paint on the walls. I saw the paint color on the cleaning rag–and quickly stopped.  Now, looking looking with sad bewilderment at St.Tabitha, I remembered that day.

Hmmm. Latex paint is like acrylic paint. Perhaps putting 409 on a cotton ball and wiping it on the offending areas would work.

I tried it.  I wiped it gently, nothing happened.  Then I took a stiff little paint brush and carefully scrubbed the 409 in small circles. This did seem to be working.  I wiped the chemical cleaner off with a moist paper towel and left the icon to dry.

It seemed to have worked.  I can still see the error, but not as distinctly.  I put another coat of paint over it, after painting in the lettering. I didn’t want to lose those painstakingly drawn letters under too many coats of paint!  I think this is working.  (huge sigh of relief here).  I continue to highlight the face and hands, all areas of the icon, and grow near to completing the image of St.Tabitha.

 

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Catholic icons, Christian Prayer, Icon, Iconography and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The corrections

  1. Next time, try a little rubbing alcohol – either 70% or 90%, very carefully with a cotton swab. Good fortune!

Leave a Reply

