St. Tabitha Icon

I have finished my icon of St. Tabitha.  Intended for persons who are not familiar with icons and their symbolic language, this image of her is not strictly traditional.  I hope that it will lead the recipients to prayer and reflection.

St. Tabitha is the patron saint of seamstresses and tailors.  Her feastday is October 25. I found a beautiful Eastern Orthodox prayer to honor her, and it follows below.

With the flow of the many–streamed river of almsgiving,

You watered the dry earth of the needy.

Showering alms on the widows and the poor,

You shone with the light of your works

And were radiant with grace, O Tabitha.

Glory to Christ who loves you!

Glory to Christ who has blessed you!

Glory to Christ whom you followed as a true disciple and a spotless lamb!

You served the Savior in holiness

By your God-fearing deeds,

And were a model of love as his disciple.

O Tabitha, we praise your memory!

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Catholic icons, Catholicism, Christian Prayer, Icon, Iconography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to St. Tabitha Icon

  1. Congrats! Great finish even if you had a few hiccups! Best wishes to you and your family for a restful Thanksgiving holiday.

  2. Alice LaBier says:

    St. Tabitha is just beautiful! You were spiritually well guided.
    Enjoy the Blessings of Thanksgiving with your family and may God continue to bless you and your talents.

  3. A beautiful and thoughtful piece – I’m inspired to learn more about St. Tabitha! God bless!

  4. Marissa says:

    is this or another similar to it available for purchase? She’s my favorite saint and I’m looking for an icon of her.

  5. David Hensley says:

    Are prints of this icon available? I’m a vestment maker & would like to hang St. Tabitha’s likeness in my sewing room.

Leave a Reply

