A Visual Prayer

 

This icon, whose prototype originates from the Syrian/Turkish border, has historically been linked to prayers to Our Lord for protection, and for victory over evil and death.

I have been so saddened by the martyrdom of the 21 Egyptian Christians recently in Libya, as well as the thousands of others who have been murdered and persecuted by Muslim extremists.  I painted this icon as a prayerful response to the news of their courage and faith, and that of their grieving families.  (See more about the origin of this icon on my previous post.)

The names of these 21 have been entered into the Coptic book of martyrs, and they have been declared saints.

Hani Abdel Messihah

Yousef Shoukry

Towadros Yousef

Maged Suleiman Shahata

Milad Makeen Zaky

 Abanub Ayad Atiya

Kirollos Shokry Fawzy

Bishoy Astafanus Kamel

Girgis Milad Sinweet

Mina Fayez Aziz

Samuel Alham Wilson

Samuel Astafanus Kamel

Ezat Bishri Naseef

Loqa Nagaty Anees

Munir Gaber Adly

Esam Badir Samir

Malak Farag Abram

Sameh Salah (Sameh Salah Farug)

Girgis Sameer Maglee

Mathew Ayairga (from Ghana)

In an interview with the Huffington Post, Beshir Kamel, the brother of two of the martyrs said that he would forgive the killers if he met them.  He said this of his mother:  “My mother, an uneducated woman in her sixties, said she would ask [the killer] to enter her house and ask God to open his eyes because he was the reason her sons entered the kingdom of heaven.”

“This only makes us stronger in our faith.”

(photo of martyrs from indiegogo.com)

(names and interview posts from the Huffington Post, article by Sophia Jones)

 

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in art, Catholic icons, Christian Prayer, Icon, Iconography, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A Visual Prayer

  1. New Things says:

    I love this one…I especially love the heart behind the painting. My prayers are with the persecuted church this week as well. I learn so much from your posts! Thank you.

  2. Cornel A. says:

    I have no words to express my feelings about this….

  3. deaconmike51907 says:

    Reblogged this on News With a Catholic View and commented:
    An interesting take on the slaughter of 21 Christians by in Lybia by Islamic terrorists. I confess it will be a while before I will be able take such a Christian approach to such an atrocity, which only goes to confirm that I am but a work in progress.

Leave a Reply

