Rejoice Always, Pray Without Ceasing

 

From the east the sunlight comes, moving slowly over the earth, brightening time zone after time zone.  The day moves on, the earth turns.   Evening comes here even as the dawn lights up the other side of the world –and like a beautiful relay race of exultation one Mass ends and another begins, circling the globe with prayer.


My town has 6 parishes, plus one of  the 72 cloistered Carmelite monasteries in the world. Between them there are 8 daily Masses said.  I like to think that with the movement of the sun over our planet, awakening city after city, nation after nation,  there is a Mass is beginning every minute, somewhere in the world.  One liturgy after the other, in this place, in that place, prayers and worship are being offered up to God, uniting us all as community in ceaseless praise.

Mass in Burkina Faso, photo by Edward Hoyt, CRS

 

On Sundays and feastdays, the prayers increase. In my town, there are 24 weekly Masses. Eastern Rite and Orthodox Churches add 3 celebrations of the Divine Liturgy to the richness and devotion of the Roman Mass.

Moved by the Holy Spirit, offering up the Body and Blood of the Son to the Father in all of our names, we join together in an unending chorus of worship and praise, without pause, glorifying God as a universal community.

It is a magnificent thing, and the Love that guides it will defeat all evil.

 

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Rejoice Always, Pray Without Ceasing

  1. SR says:

    This is a post to which I contemplated all day yesterday. There was something about it which touched me greatly. I love the phrase, “circling the globe with prayer.”

    I often think of the Mass being offered throughout the world, but have never thought how the “globe” is indeed circled with prayer.” The more I thought about that yesterday the more it became so ingrained in my soul.

    That is such a beautiful thought, but I contemplated also, what mercy and grace it is. What a gift it is from God, that the prayers of the Mass are being continuously offered for those in the world, daily, moment by moment. This is what makes His Church so beautiful.

    It also made me think about how the “feast days” in the Bible were celebrated, and how we do the same, all over the world. In thinking all of these things, it made me realize everything in the Bible was leading up to the Church. A way of worship, praise, thanksgiving, prayers, and the offering of God’s Son to Him, for the whole world.

    This was an excellent post, Reinkat. Well thought out and beautifully written. Love you and God Bless, SR

    • reinkat says:

      thanks, SR, for your very thoughtful reply.
      I guess my thoughts were obvious to many, but I had always understood praying without ceasing to mean an individual thing only. It is good to think that we are all together in Christ, and that the community is carrying on fervent prayer as well. We are all encouraging and holding up each other in both macro and micro ways.

  2. sidelites46 says:

    I also love to think that way about the Divine Chaplet.

Leave a Reply

