Mother’s Day Reflection

A dear friend of mine was asked to do a reflection at church on Mother’s Day, and this is what she came up with. I thought it was beautiful, and pertinent even after the holiday has ended for this year:

All this week I have been reflecting and praying about writing this reflection on motherhood and then I received this letter from a dear friend who wrote me to express her remembrances of my mother, Helen Rose Picado, who died this past December, and to embrace me in her heart and prayers. It began with this poem by Dawna Markova:

I will not die an unlived life.

I will not live in fear

of falling or catching fire.

I choose to inhabit my days,

to allow my living to open me,

to make me less afraid,

more accessible,

to loosen my heart

until it becomes a wing,

a torch, a promise.

I choose to risk my significance;

to live so that which came to me as seed

goes to the next as blossom

and that which came to me as blossom,

goes on as fruit.

 

Bear much fruit. I was amazed. I am always amazed when God speaks to me so clearly through others. It was as if I was hearing an echo from the words of scripture in this past week leading up to Mother’s Day:

I am the vine, you are the branches.
Whoever remains in me and I in him will bear much fruit,

LOVE ONE ANOTHER AS I HAVE LOVED YOU.

No one has greater love than this,

to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.

LOVE ONE ANOTHER AS I HAVE LOVED YOU.

I have told you this so that my joy may be in you
and your joy might be complete.

LOVE ONE ANOTHER.

Go and bear much fruit.

Remain in my Love.

Do these profound words not remind you of your mother and all those who mother you? They certainly remind me of my mother. As I wrote this, her picture was next to me and I know she was with me, as always, giving me guidance and wise counsel and helping me bear fruit.

How many times and in how many countless ways has your mother told you that she loves you? I know my mother told me that I was a miracle. She, like Sarah, was told that she would not be able to have children but she prayed to God and Our Lady to have a child… and I came along, her only child.

But whether you were an only child or not, I bet your mother called you a miracle too. Because you are—each and every one of you—molded and shaped in the image of God, a unique and beautiful creation. And, I know as a mother, I consider both of my sons, precious miracles, gifts from God, from His hands to mine. Who knows this better than a mother, who bore you into this world and whose heart rejoiced and danced and sang God’s praises when you arrived.

And, as I, like Jesus, grew, and my mother, like Mary, marveled at this wondrous being, this child of hers, my mother fed me, comforted me, nurtured me, guided me through life’s many challenges, watched out for me as I confronted danger, scolded and chided me when I went astray, believed in me when I floundered, taught me so many things from tying my shoes and brushing my teeth and reading to doing my best and bearing much fruit and loving God and one another.

When you think about it, wasn’t it all about Love? Wasn’t your and my mother’s life a pouring out of Love, a laying down of her life for ours??  Her joy was in us so that our joy might be complete. And Jesus tells us, there is no greater love than this.

I share with you now an excerpt from the reflection I shared about my mother at her memorial service:

What mattered most in all the world to my mother was love of family and she poured her life into us and in so doing bequeathed to us the greatest of gifts, the gift of Love, love of God, love of family, love of friends. And, in the end, love defies all odds; it is an everyday miracle, this perfect gift from Above, for even now that my mother is gone from us in this earthly realm, love prevails. Love, quite miraculously, does bear all things, believe all things, hope all things, and endure all things.

So, this mother’s day and whenever you have lost your way, remember and replay often the following conversation with GOD and your MOTHER and all those who manifest PERFECT LOVE in little and not-so-little ways.

ME: TELL ME THE WAY, LORD.

GOD: I am the vine, you are the branches.
Whoever remains in me and I in him will bear much fruit,

ME: BUT, HOW DO WE DO THIS?

GOD: LOVE ONE ANOTHER, AS I HAVE LOVED YOU.

No one has greater love than this,

to lay down one’s life for one’s friends.

ME: BUT, WHY DO WE DO THIS?

GOD: So that my joy may be in you
and your joy might be complete.

ME: HOW DO WE DO THIS AGAIN?

GOD: Don’t worry, my child, the Holy Spirit
will teach you everything
and remind you to…
LOVE ONE ANOTHER.

ME: WHAT MUST I DO AGAIN?

GOD: LOVE ONE ANOTHER, AS I HAVE LOVED YOU.

Go, my child, and bear much fruit.

Remain in my Love always.

 

My dear friends, this Mother’s Day, keep your mothers and this conversation close to your hearts.  Bless you, your mothers, and go and Love One Another, Bear Much Fruit, and Remain in Love always. Amen.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mother’s Day Reflection

  1. SR says:

    This was beautiful and I am so glad you shared it with us. I lit another candle for Mom this weekend and Mass. I do not quite know why that gives me so much peace, but it does. With it seems as if I am letting go more and more, and handing her over to Jesus.

    “To allow my living to open me.” That is what is all about Reinkat, isn’t it? To live to be open to what all God wants to give to us, no matter how it comes. Loved it and you, God Bless, SR

    • reinkat says:

      Hi SR,
      thank you for the response, and know that I thought of you and your own beloved mother when I posted this reflection. I am glad that you can light candles. We have candles, too, but they have to be blown out as soon as the service is over or the person who was praying before it leaves the room. Fire regulations, I guess. So the beautiful idea of the flame being there as a remembrance of your prayers can’t happen here. I am glad that it does for you, I think that is a beautiful thing.

Leave a Reply

