Beauty of Creation

I’ve been away visiting my mother in another state.  It’s good to be home again.  As I flew homeward, I was lucky to get a window seat.  Evening was approaching as we took off, and I watched a really beautiful sunset from my vantage point of 32,000 feet in the air.  Just below there was a thick  layer of fuzzy-looking clouds, forming a “floor” for the skyworld beneath us.  Sunrays turned it a deep golden color .  The sky was clear above, and I think you could see for hundreds of miles.   There were a lot of wispy clouds above this layer, and they began to light up in reds and oranges.  The sun was a big red ball.

Most beautiful of all: some of the upper layer clouds were actually raining.  Although the drops never reached the actual ground far below–they dissipated into and were absorbed by the golden layer of cloud cover.  What they DID do was create a multitude of rainbows above the clouds, shining up there among the deeper sunset colors all around. It was spectacularly beautiful.  I have never seen anything like it.  Words cannot do it justice.

Oh, how I wish I had brought my camera!

What a world of beauty our God has given us.

 

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Beauty of Creation

  1. J. David Hill says:

    Your icon of the Divine Mercy is wonderful!
    To me the vast majority of the depictions of this image are tasteless and tacky. St. Faustina did not like the first painting herself nor did her spiritual advisor who arranged to have the painting done. I wish I could purchase an icon like this it would perfectly complement the large icon of the crucifixion that is the central focus behind the altar in our church.

    • reinkat says:

      Thank you, David, for your comment. I have to agree with you and St. Faustina on the original, but even though it is not to my own taste, I had to do a lot of soul-searching before beginning the icon. The original is what is familiar and beloved, and it is difficult to paint a different yet equally reverent image to present to people.
      I have had a few people inquire about reproductions of my icon, and am considering doing that. I also accept commissions.

  2. SR says:

    You did not bring your camera??? Now that one I find hard to believe!!!! 🙂 Sounds beautiful. God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

