Luke 21: 12-19

The Gospel reading for daily Mass on Wednesday, November 25:

Jesus said to the crowd: “They will seize and persecute you, they will hand you over to the synagogues and to prisons, and they will have you led before kings and governors because of my name.  It will lead to your giving testimony.  Remember, you are not to prepare your defense beforehand, for I myself shall give you a wisdom in speaking that all your adversaries will be powerless to resist or refute.  You will even be handed over by parents, brothers, relatives and friends, and they will put some of you to death.  You will be hated by all because of my name, but not a hair on your head will be destroyed.  By your perseverance you will secure your lives.”   Luke 21:12-19

When I was growing up–no, even when I was grown–even as recently as a decade ago, I never thought the words of this Gospel reading would pertain to me.  They were for another time, another place, for other peoples long ago.  But now I know that these warnings will come to be, and in fact, are here already for the Christians in the Middle East.  I have read that there have been more martyrs in this century than there have been during all of the time of the Roman persecutions.

Here in the U.S., the persecutions begin: not as direct as killing in an attempt to wipe Christians out, but in marginalizing and ridicule. There is a cost to standing up for the Word of God:  Doctors who refuse to do abortions.  College students who defend the sanctity of life. Pharmacists who don’t want to distribute the “morning after” pill. County clerks who refuse to issue same-sex marriage licenses.  Bakers who don’t want to participate in a same-sex ceremony.  I myself, a lowly clerk for a city government, can be reprimanded– or even fired–just for speaking of my faith while at work.

I have to admit, such things give me pause. As a mother, I pray every day for my children, who have left the church, that they might return to faith, to Jesus.  My heart and soul wants this, of course, but my instincts as a mother rebel against the thought that they, too, will pay such a price if my prayers are granted.  Short-sighted as it might be, the weak, human part of me wants them to survive, to thrive.  I pray for strength for my own resolve even as I lift them up in prayer.  I know what is right and just, but the consequences are frightening.  Especially for a loved one to endure.  What I don’t fear so much for myself, I dread for my children.  Yet . . .

As we enter into the Advent season, St. John the Baptist exhorts us to prepare ourselves for the coming of the Lord.  It becomes necessary to make a choice, to take a stand.  I remember a recent homily in which our pastor said that if it should one day become illegal to be a Christian, and they came after you–would there be enough evidence to convict?

Holy Spirit, guide me and give me courage and wisdom.

Jesus, I trust in You.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Christian Prayer and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Luke 21: 12-19

  1. SR says:

    I do not know what to say about this post, Reinkat. I think this is the best one you have ever done! (Not that they all are not great!) This one is just “so you!” “Why don’t I fear so much for myself, I dread for my children?” Because they are your kids Girlfriend! We always see them in a diaper no matter how old they get! 🙂 What true mother would not lay her life down for her kids?

    “Would there be enough evidence to convict?” I pray there would Reinkat, the question I always ask myself is, “Will I have the courage to lay my life down for it?” I know not to do so would be to reject Christ. I guess we will never know until and if that day comes.

    The unknown always makes us afraid, and we are most assuredly living in times of the “unknown.” I do not know how much longer any Christian is going to be able to go freely to Church without major consequence, in this nation. As you wrote, we see we are already losing the right to live our lives according to our faith.

    I pray all of us has the strength to “persevere until the end.” I believe in years to come, we are going to need every ounce of that strength. Great post, love, and God Bless, SR

  2. reinkat says:

    Thanks for your comments. I fear a great deal for our priests especially. They will be on the front lines, and I hope that the rest of us will stand with them bravely. Yes, we will need every ounce of our courage and faith.
    I think of those Orthodox Egyptian Christians who were beheaded by ISIS on the seashore. How brave they were, how they died with strength and dignity. They were an example to us all.

Leave a Reply

