Angels and Dogs

There are many types and levels of angels mentioned in the Bible.  Cherubim.  Archangels.  Seraphim.  Thrones and Dominions.  And so on.

What do they look like?  We have no idea, really. Sometimes they are described in Bible stories as appearing like a beautiful, shining figure. Others are described as 6 pairs of wings and a thousand eyes.

What do they do? We’ve been told a bit more about this.  They are the messengers of God and protectors of heaven. They praise and worship the Lord.  Perhaps each type of angel does a different thing, or maybe they all do all of these things.  Maybe their task in life depends on their level–maybe not all angels are equal in gifts.

I call my dogs “angels”.  They are happy to respond to that name. My friends and family seem politely conscending towards my quirky titling of my canine buddies.  I don’t feel silly calling them angels.  I think that, in their own way, they are messengers from God.  Dogs  teach and show us all kinds of things:

Humility.  Gratitude.  Forgiveness.  Living in the joy of the present (nobody does “joy” like a dog).  Patience. Tolerance.  Acceptance of others.  Acceptance of circumstance.  Finding pleasure in the small things of life. Loyalty.  Unconditional love. And most time, obedience.

Sure, dogs do disgusting things, too.  After all, they are animals.  But sometimes they can seem to be so much more than that.  Every creature reflects its Creator, and what the dog reflects seems to me to be a loving message from our God, an example of how to be.

I love that bumper sticker I see sometimes:  Be the person that your dog thinks you are.We would all do well to follow that advice!

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Angels and Dogs

  1. SR says:

    How I relate to this post. I call mine angels also, yet there are times when I call them “demons.” Like when they kill a stray cat or chew up my favorite shoe, which I am now going on my fifth pair of flip-flops! 🙂 Most of the time “angels” though, as they bless my life daily.

    I do not think others really see what an “animal lover” sees in their pets. How much joy and learning they bring to our lives. You know I always say, “God used a donkey to teach man!” So I do not think we are far off in our belief. Love and God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

