WWJD — WWID?

I read the Gospels sometimes and wonder at the people who saw with their own eyes the miracles that Jesus worked, heard with their own ears the things He said.  And still they turned away.  How could they NOT believe?  I know that I sure would have followed Him–or would I?

If I think deeply and honestly about it, knowing my conservative cautious self as I do, I wonder if I would have the courage to step away from everything I had been raised to believe, and follow a new way.  I was blessed to be raised Catholic, and never had to grapple with this sort of issue. But it is hard to turn away from your family traditions–and probably your family, too– and from the things you had always been taught were true.

I hope that I would have had the clarity of vision and the insight to follow Jesus, had I lived in those times.  I hope that I would have had to courage to leave everything behind for His sake.  Even my own physical life had that been required of me.

I so much admire the principles and courage of those who do so today, who experience a conversion of heart and turn to follow Christ.

I am in awe of those who die for their faith, in the Middle East, in Africa, in Asia, and everywhere that His followers are persecuted.

I hope that my own faith is deep and true, even as I would fear to have it so tested.

 

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

