A “well, duh” moment

Now many of you will probably say “well, duh” when you read this, but even though I have been praying for people all of my life, I am evidently a slow learner.

Twice in the last year, I have volunteered to be a prayer partner for someone who is going through a program of faith formation.  I have never met these people, don’t know what they look like, who they are, or what their needs or circumstances are.  I just have a name.

I found it difficult to do, to pray for somebody that was faceless and unknown to me.  My prayers felt short, trite, dry as I cast about for something to say about them to the Lord, some concrete need that I could ask Him for.

Then I had the moment of insight that I needed:  just let go.  God knows what they need.   I don’t need to know.

I realized that I had been trying to control things, to tell God what to do.  What’s more:  I do that as well in my intercessory prayer for myself, for my family, for my friends and all loved ones.  I do it when I pray for “the world” and the Christian refugees in the Middle East–assuming that I know what is best and practically preparing a list for God so that He would know what to do.

None of that is necessary.  It is enough to hold each of these dear people for a moment in my heart and mind, lifting them lovingly up to the Lord and asking Him to bless them and fill them with grace.

 

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Catholicism, Christian Prayer and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A “well, duh” moment

  1. SR says:

    Loved it!!!! Isn’t it “freeing” when we let go and let God? Do not feel alone though, as you well know I have struggled with the same issues. Thankfully and hopefully the journey I am on now, is taking me out of all of that. This post just strengthened me to do so, and I thank you for sharing it with us.

    You know I am wishing you a great Mother’s Day! Love ya and God Bless, SR

Leave a Reply

