Disillusionment Straight From the Heart

I mentioned in my last post that I might be a “slow learner”.  Perhaps in more than one category.  Now I look at my patriotic ideals, and my naivete is exposed.

I watch at least a little of the election news nearly every night–reluctantly, but of course one needs to be informed.  I had faith that the collective wisdom of our educated population would prevail.  And then I look at the 2 likely nominees, the front runners.  Really people? is this the best we can do?  What is wrong with you all?  Are you thinking, remembering, listening to these two?

I am astonished and appalled.  If these are to be the choices, perhaps it time to consider an ex-pat community in Costa Rica.

And even further, I am seeing what a farce it is to have believed that my vote counted. By the people, for the people?  I don’t think so.

I say this because:  in one party, at one point early on in the primary elections, one candidate had beaten the other  in half the states, and barely–BARELY–lost in the rest of them.  They were running neck and neck in the vote of the people.  And yet, at that time, the delegate count for each candidate was in the neighborhood of 300 delegates to 5.  This in no way reflected the will of the people who belonged to this party.

The other party is not any better.  One candidate defeated a dozen others, state by state, emerging on top.  But this one is not supported by the party leadership, so there was talk about having to “broker” the convention and put someone else on the ballot instead. Then there was a stated refusal by many party leaders to support him when his victory became obvious.  Again, the will of the people who belong to this party is being worked against.

My country is becoming something I never hope for, worked towards.  It is not the country that my father fought for all those years ago.  It is not the one I learned about in school history and civics classes.  How can this be allowed by us, by the people?  The United States was a country so richly blessed, and with such promise for the future.  And now, all I can do it throw up my hands in prayer and in hope, for the sake of the few good persons in America.

About reinkat

I am an iconographer, and have been studying Russian/Greek icons since 1995. I'm married with 3 children. I love hiking, camping, animals, my family and church--and icons.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Disillusionment Straight From the Heart

  1. SR says:

    Oh and let us not forget the most important thing in life and to our government right now…. THE BATHROOM ISSUE! Of course there is nothing as important as this, like people getting their heads cut off, people getting bombed even in our own nation, people starving to death, and losing jobs! Oh no, it is the BATHROOM!

    It is the not the same country I have worked for either , Reinkat. It makes me sad! It makes me mad! It makes me sick to my stomach!

    I have to remember in the Bible it says: (not direct quote) “All those in authority, God has placed there.” I have to believe and I pray daily, that somewhere in all of this, God will send us a “Moses” to lead this country back to Him. Great post and I loved reading it! Love and God Bless, SR

    PS Tried to email tonight and for some reason having trouble getting to it. Will do as soon as it clears out.

  2. reinkat says:

    anything to distract people from what is really happening

Leave a Reply

